Homemade Yogurt at room temperature

my favorite breakfast

I have always loved yogurt. I already posted how to make yogurt in the crock pot. For those of you who found that method time consuming or who don’t have a crock pot you will be excited to learn that Cultures for Health has several yogurt cultures that grow just fine at room temperature.

I have purchased many products from Cultures for Health, and I am always so excited when they come in the mail. My most recent purchase was a Viili Yogurt culture from Finland.

Viili cultures at 68-78 degrees, right on your counter-top. It has a mild taste, and is moderately thick. The beautiful part is you only have to purchase the culture one time. After you make yogurt, reserve a small amount and use it to start the next batch. You can make yogurt indefinitely with just one purchase.

I love anything that helps me save money! Because of its taste and consistency it is also a good substitute for sour cream in any recipe. It makes a delicious frozen yogurt (I like it with dark chocolate or carob chips). I also strain some of the yogurt through cheesecloth until it is very thick. Then you can flavor it with any herb or spice that you like. It makes the best cream cheese cracker spread I’ve ever eaten. Now you never have to buy yogurt, ice cream, sour cream or cream cheese again. Isn’t that cool!

Viili Yogurt Instructions

Place culture in milk at a ratio of 1 Tbsp per cup of milk

Leave in warm room for 12-18 hours

Remove 1/4 cup of yogurt to use for the next batch and eat the rest!

The flavor is really good, mildly sweet. Perfect over blueberries. No additional sweetener is required.

Full of many probiotics including Lactococcus lactis subsp. cremoris, Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis biovar. diacetylactis, Leuconostoc mesenteroides subsp. cremoris.

Questions? Just leave a comment and I’ll try to help. This post featured Make it Yourself Monday and Mix it Up Mondays

10 Comments

  1. Lisa said,

    March 5, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    I love making homemade yogurt, however I’ve never made it like this. I can’t wait to try it! Thanks so much for sharing at Mix it up Monday :)

  2. March 9, 2012 at 8:30 PM

    great post! I definitely need to try this method. thanks so much!

  3. Josh said,

    March 23, 2012 at 1:45 AM

    I love making yogurt when I can. Never heard of a room temperature culture, might need to try it out.

  4. March 29, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    That sounds super! I’ve wanted to get away from my yogurt maker that is plastic.

  5. April 3, 2012 at 5:42 PM

    i am making this tomorrow. Can’t wait!

  6. April 7, 2012 at 4:58 AM

    [...] read how to do it in a crock pot here or how to do it at room temperature with no heat required here. The whey will naturally rise to the top of yogurt, or you can strain the yogurt through a tea [...]

  7. Brandi said,

    May 3, 2012 at 7:21 AM

    I make yogurt and kefir this way. If you really want to make it thick like cream cheese, once the yogurt has set, strain it through a coffee filter for about 6 hours in the fridge (strainer underneath of course!). You’ll have the most creamy, tangy, Greek-style yogurt for dips and cooking!

  8. April 8, 2013 at 12:01 AM

    [...] 1 cup homemade yogurt [...]

  9. Chaya said,

    May 21, 2013 at 11:08 PM

    Can’t you just use some good store bought yogurt to start some yogurt?! Do you have to use the same type of milk as the original type of yogurt? If you use full fat yogurt, should the milk you use also be full fat?

  10. January 3, 2014 at 5:38 PM

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    site? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information
    you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Regards!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 895 other followers

