Homemade Hippie Toothpaste

At our local health food store organic, fluoride-free toothpaste is $6.19 for a 5.5 oz tube! At the big chain grocery store Tom’s of Maine without fluoride is $4.25. So I was on a mission to make my own. I tried tooth powder for a while, but it isn’t cheap either. I’m too frugal to spend 6 bucks on something I’m just spitting down the sink.

Having said that, I know for sure that plenty of people don’t use anything on their toothbrush. The toothpaste isn’t cleaning your teeth, the brushing is. You can brush your teeth for the rest of your life with a naked toothbrush if you want to be extra frugal, but I like that minty fresh feeling, so here goes…..

Homemade Hippie Toothpaste

  • 3-6 Tbsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp fine sea salt
  • 15 drops peppermint essential oil.

If you stop here, you have tooth powder. Just dunk your brush in and have a ball. I like paste, so I continue…

Mix this in a small jar. Add:

  • 2-3 Tbsp coconut oil, softened.
  • 2-3 Tbsp Aloe Vera Gel

Mix this with a fork until it is a paste-like consistency. This is where I stop.

If you want to take it one step further and make it exactly like the store-bought toothpaste for the haters in the household add 1-2 tsp vegetable glycerin. (find this in any drug store or pharmacy next to the band-aids). Mix the glycerin in with your fork and it will turn creamy and smooth like the poisonous stuff that you can buy at Wal-Mart for .50 cents.

For variety you can try clove oil, tea tea oil, spearmint oil etc. I’m a stickler for peppermint myself. I keep this in a small 4 oz jelly jar on the bathroom counter and just dunk my toothbrush right into it. If you have OCD or you are trying to hide your frugal hippie side from your spouse you can try to refill an old toothpaste tube.

If you can’t find glycerin for whatever reason, you can also use Xanthum gum (found next to the weirdo flours in the baking aisle).

See also:

Homemade Hippie Mouthwash

Simple Body Lotion

Mineral Make-up

Homemade Face Wash

Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

Homemade Wrinkle Cream

Homemade Windex

Homemade all-purpose disinfectant spray

Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion

Homemade Hippie Lip Balm

Homemade Hippie Hair Spray

Homemade Hippie Bug Spray

Homemade Hippie Body Lotion

A COMPLETE LIST OF HOMEMADE HIPPIE RECIPES

37 Comments

  1. fridaamu said,

    March 19, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    Does this work as good as “normal” toothpaste? :p

    • March 19, 2012 at 9:16 AM

      I use it every day. I have also been known to be too lazy to mix something up and just use plain baking soda right out of the box :)

      • ChantalMM said,

        May 11, 2012 at 11:28 PM

        Please do check with a trusted dentist about the abrasiveness of straight (or near-straight) baking soda. My dentist strays from conventional thinking in a good way (e.g., believes in the tooth’s ability to maintain and repair itself with a good diet, etc.), and I think he doesn’t recommend it. That’s all I used to use for a while. Now I don’t use anything.

  2. pixilated2 said,

    March 19, 2012 at 8:54 AM

    Ahem, I have Celiac Disease and can’t eat the ‘normal’ flours that you can. I have to use those ‘weirdo flours” and the Zanthan gum to make my weirdo bread that won’t poison me.

    Personally, I am very grateful to any supermarket that caries these items, because for too many years to count I did without because of the expense and the exorbitant shipping costs. OK, I got that off my chest… ;)

    I do love your post for the Hippie Toothpaste, and thanks for the recipe! ~ Lynda

    • March 19, 2012 at 9:15 AM

      Yay for weirdo flours! I have a friend at work that has Celiac disease, and so does her son. We have a lot of fun coming up with gluten free recipes together. Enjoy your toothpaste! Let me know how the texture turns out, I was curious what the Xanthum Gum would do to the texture.
      P.S Glycerin is vegetable based, so you should be fine with that too…..

      • pixilated2 said,

        March 19, 2012 at 10:21 AM

        My guess would be that it acts as an emulsifier to stabilize your mix and keep the solids from settling to the bottom of the jar. In GF baking it acts as a gluten replacement to hold the baked goods together. Unfortunately, it lacks the elasticity of gluten which gives the goods better texture and crumb.
        ~ L

      • March 19, 2012 at 10:44 AM

        I’m curious how it will feel in your mouth. Texture wise, it just seems like it would be gummy and strange. But maybe not! I’ll try it next time we run out just for the heck of it.

      • pixilated2 said,

        March 19, 2012 at 11:26 AM

        LOL! Good question! But, look on your food labels because it is in everything. Especially salad dressings.
        ~L

  3. March 19, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    Nice job! I tried to make my own toothpaste but just couldn’t get past the ultra salty taste… does yours taste that way? I started using food grade diatomaceous earth, although I really miss that minty freshness you get after using “toothpaste.” :)

    • March 19, 2012 at 5:11 PM

      It does have a salty aftertaste, but you really do get used to it. The salt is really just for extra scrubbing power, so you can skip that entirely if you wish. Diatomaceous earth is an excellent idea! I hadn’t thought of that. I only make a few ounces at a time, so I’ll try that next time I make a new batch.

      • March 19, 2012 at 6:31 PM

        I saw your comment to someone else that you had just been using baking soda. I did that for a while, then I found the DE and it’s been the most amazing thing! No funky taste and it cleans so well. You can get a 50lb bag at a feed and seed SUPER cheap, just make sure it’s food grade. I did a post on it but we drink it daily, LOVE that stuff.

  4. Shelley said,

    March 19, 2012 at 1:10 PM

    Now Heather I don’t have an OCD but I think I would get a popsicle stick(without the popsicle) or something similar to dab a little on my toothbrush. It sounds like a good recipe for daily use.

    • March 19, 2012 at 5:09 PM

      Yeah I suppose you’re right. I figure the baking soda has to kill some of the germs right? lol. I actually keep my toothbrush stored upside down in a little jar of hydrogen peroxide….

  5. gerean said,

    March 19, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    I’ve used straight baking soda for years . . . sometimes adding a little spearmint oil for ambiance. I’m going to try your recipe out. I agreed with Shelley though, because of the gazillions of bacteria living on a wet toothbrush, I’d definitely not dip or double-dip my brush into anything wet. OCD or not, a bacterial infection is as big a concern for me as whether or not my flour is healthy. I’m just sayin’ . . . :)

    This was a wonderful post. Thanks for taking the time to test, write and share.

    ~Gerean

  6. creekrose said,

    March 19, 2012 at 8:04 PM

    i love your posts and the pictures that go with them :0)
    i’ve been using this blend for over a decade now . . . .only difference being i add double the quantity of green clay as the baking soda and cover the whole lot with water to get it pasty . . . the coconut oil sounds way tastier though, am going to try this for variety when i’m out of green clay.
    just to share, i visited the dentist after nine years and he was all praise for my teeth ‘considering’ (and here his eyebrows were way high) ‘it had been NINE years’, and then he asked me what i use to keep my teeth so clean, so when i told him and he made a note of the ingredients, i figured it must be valid enough that he took such an interest in it (and yes that is assuming a lot but still!) . . . . .. not that i’d stop using the formula had he scolded ;0) . . . ..

  7. vivjm said,

    March 20, 2012 at 4:48 AM

    I am sooo going to have to give this a try. I am totally obsessed with coconut oil at the moment, so I guess there will be some raised eyebrows from hubby “you’ve used coconut oil for WHAT this time?!?” but ho-hum, gotta be better than the store bought rubbish :-)

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • March 20, 2012 at 9:37 AM

      Let me know how it turns out. I have lots of ideas from the comments that I can’t wait to try.

  8. March 25, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    [...] the same. I’m going to miss the paste and the minty freshness feeling so I’m going to try this natural toothpaste recipe from a blog that I really like and that’s full of good info called A Real Food Lover. If I [...]

  9. ThriftyNut said,

    March 28, 2012 at 5:10 PM

    Really looking forward to trying this! Thanks for posting!

  10. May 4, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    [...] window/glass cleaner, all purpose cleanser and disinfectant, lotion, wrinkle cream, hair spray, toothpaste, mouthwash, and lip balm and now it’s time to tackle scouring [...]

  11. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    [...] Toothpaste (make it myself) [...]

  12. May 15, 2012 at 10:15 AM

    I’ll be making a batch of this today for sure. I just won a quart size jar of Tropical Traditional virgin coconut oil and it will be divine in this mix……(runs to kitchen to grab all ingredients as we speak)

  13. Polythene Pam said,

    March 11, 2013 at 11:55 PM

    few drops of peppermint essential oil and minty freshness back. Few drops of clove or cinnamon and a nice tasting paste that doesnt ruin flavours for the next hour.

    This is my tooth powder recipe http://plasticisrubbish.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/shiney-teeth-empty-bins/

  14. April 7, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Toothpaste [...]

  15. April 7, 2013 at 5:38 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  16. April 7, 2013 at 6:28 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  17. April 7, 2013 at 6:34 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  18. April 7, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  19. April 7, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Toothpaste [...]

  20. April 7, 2013 at 6:56 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Toothpaste [...]

  21. April 7, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  22. April 7, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Toothpaste [...]

  23. April 11, 2013 at 12:01 AM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste [...]

  24. April 19, 2013 at 8:09 AM

    [...] did find this awesome blog that tells how to make a huge variety of every day products. Check it out! I am going [...]

  25. April 25, 2013 at 8:46 AM

    [...] make the toothpaste, I loosely followed this recipe. I mixed 6 tbsp. of baking soda, 1 tsp. of fine sea salt, 3 heaping tbsp. of coconut oil, 2 [...]

  26. Polythene Pam said,

    June 30, 2013 at 2:06 PM

    Try my recipe – not so salty http://plasticisrubbish.wordpress.com/2009/07/22/plastic-free-teeth/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 908 other followers

