Five Salad Dressing Recipes

Making your own salad dressing takes less than a minute and requires a bowl and a fork. I highly recommend making your own, it is so fun to play with the ingredients. Most commercial salad dressing contain MSG and trans fats. Even the “healthy” salad dressings contain soybean oil, cottonseed oil, canola oil, corn oil, or safflower oil. These oils are almost always rancid and have to be deodorized at the factory to hide the noxious odor of sour, spoiled oil. The process of removing the rancid smell creates a highly dangerous form of trans fat. They are also way too expensive. You can make you own at home for pennies.

Basic Salad Dressing

1/3 cup melted coconut oil (melt it gently over low heat, no microwave)

1/3 cold-pressed sesame oil (not the toasted kind)

1/3 high quality olive oil (did I tell you how much I love Nunez de Prado?)

This is your basic dressing. I have been known to eat this as is, with no additional herbs or flavors when I’m in a hurry. If don’t have ingredients, I buy the a lot of oils and herbs from Mountain Rose Herbs.

The absolute highest quality olive oil!

Italian Dressing

1 cup Basic Salad Dressing

1/4 tsp parsley

1/4 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp basil

1/4 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp sea salt

I use dry herbs for this, but you can use fresh if you have them.

Balsamic Dressing

1 cup Basic Salad Dressing

2 tsp Dijon mustard

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 crushed garlic clove.

This is great if you let it sit in the fridge overnight so the flavors can meld. You can add sea salt and pepper to taste. Keep in mind that mustard is already salty.

Roquefort Cheese from sheeps milk makes an excellent Blue Cheese Dressing!

Blue Cheese Dressing

1 cup Basic Salad Dressing

6 Tbsp crumbled blue cheese

1 tsp raw honey

2 tsp Dijon mustard

1 clove garlic, crushed

2 Tbsp red wine vinegar

If you want to make this recipe really simple, just mix the oils and blue cheese and eat. I add the other ingredients when I want a more complex taste. But it’s really fine with just the cheese alone. For added nutrition whisk in 2 egg yolks.

Easy Garlic Dressing

1 cup Basic Salad Dressing

2-4 cloves garlic, crushed (I use 6 because I’m crazy for garlic!)

1/2 tsp sea salt

Place garlic in the oil. Put in the fridge at least overnight, the longer the better. I try to make it a few days in advance, because the longer it sits the stronger it gets and I love it. Did you know women used to use garlic as a perfume in ancient Greece? I think I was born in the wrong century :)

I keep my salad dressing on the kitchen counter, because coconut oil turns solid in the fridge. I use it up so fast, that it never has time to go bad. I only make 1 cup at a time, so it is always fresh.

If you take more than 7 days to use this make smaller batches, or place it in the refrigerator. When you want a salad, take the jar out of the fridge and place it in the sun, in a warm oven, or in a pan of warm water. After the coconut oil melts, shake the jar.

13 Comments

  1. denlyn3 said,

    March 27, 2012 at 8:43 AM

    Thanks for the ideas, salad dressing has always been the one thing we would like to make ourselves but haven’t. Now I have some great ideas from you to try.

  2. March 27, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    We love our homemade salad dressing. I used to be a strictly ranch girl but I love a simple olive oil, and balsamic vinegar. Funny how our tastes change the older and healthier we get.

  3. Josh said,

    March 28, 2012 at 2:59 AM

    This gives me some ideas. I’m not big in using salad dressings that you buy in the store. Commercial dressings tend to overpower the taste of the salad, but these sound like they could just add to the flavor. Give you that hint, but not completely take over. Thanks.

  4. realfoodroad said,

    March 28, 2012 at 8:33 AM

    These are great ideas. I make my own salad dressings too. Not only are bottled ones full of things no one needs to eat, they are expensive, and the bottles are so large, some usually ends up going down the drain when they go bad or everyone is tired of them. So also a waste. Thanks!

    • March 28, 2012 at 9:36 AM

      Good point about bottle size! I think people forget in their food budgets to factor in wasted food. Like throwing money down the garbage disposal :)

  5. Mint Bliss said,

    April 1, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    These are great. Thanks for sharing!

  6. April 10, 2012 at 4:08 AM

    [...] a whole lot of salads, with store-bought salad dressings. I started learning how to make my own homemade salad dressings. They were delicious, and much cheaper than the ones from the store. So that step was [...]

  7. April 28, 2012 at 1:13 AM

    [...] with a green salad with homemade salad dressing or just in a pretty bowl with a large side of raw [...]

  8. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    [...] Salad dressing (very easy to make) [...]

  9. May 11, 2012 at 1:02 AM

    [...] season is a lot of fun for me this year. I am having a blast coming up with all sorts of salad dressing and fun creations. But what is a salad without a crunchy, salty, buttery crouton? I had Rob time [...]

  10. February 3, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I really have a tendency to agree with almost everything that has been posted within “Five Salad
    Dressing Recipes A Real Food Lover”. Thank you for
    pretty much all the actual facts.Thanks a lot,Hector

  11. October 23, 2013 at 6:02 AM

    […] 6. Sass up your salad. When you need to know how to use coconut oil in your menus, simply reach for a batch of this homemade, coconut oil-based Basic Salad Dressing Recipe. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 895 other followers

