Homemade Hippie Hairspray (it really works!)

I have seen this recipe for years on the internet, and I just assumed that there was no possible way it could work. I mean who on earth would think that sugar water would work just as well as my $1.00 can of Suave? I don’t use hairspray very often, but when I do I want to spray it once in the morning and forget about it for the rest of the day. That stuff better hold! I also have very fine, silky hair that doesn’t hold a curl for even 1 second, so if I ever want curls there had better be a strong can of hairspray nearby.

I was really, completely shocked that this worked! Here is your 30 second recipe. Give it a try!

Homemade Hippie Hairspray

1 cup nearly boiled water

4 tsp sugar

  • Mix and pur into a fine mist spray bottle
  • spray , wait 30 seconds to dry, spray again.
  • stronger? add more sugar
  • Weaker? add less sugar

The above recipe makes a very “max hold” type hairspray. I actually had to add a bit more water and dilute mine, because I don’t need it quite that extreme.

I have been using this for a month now to test it out, and I have no complaints. It actually makes my hair very shiny, it holds all day, and NO it does not attract bugs :)

Suggestions:

  • Use the finest mist bottle you can find. I used an old hairspray bottle and it was perfect
  • Spray a very tiny amount on and wait for it to completely dry and then re-apply
  • As weird as this sounds, I spray all of my hair, let it dry, and then brush my hair. It adds just the right amount of texture to my hair, so I have zero static cling. Love it!
  • You can add any essential oil that you like (if you like to smell like a girl)

Now I have yet another household product that I don’t have to spend money on. I spend $5.98 on a 10 lb bag of organic sugar. So this recipe costs me exactly $1.6 cents!  ONE POINT SIX CENTS PEOPLE! Amazing. I love being cheap :)

Related Posts:

Homemade Hippie Wrinkle Cream

Homemade Hippie Mouthwash

Homemade Hippie Face Wash

Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion

Homemade Hippie Lip Balm

Homemade Hippie Body Wash

Homemade Hippie Bug Spray

Homemade Hippie Toothpaste

Homemade Hippie Body Lotion

A COMPLETE LIST OF HOMEMADE HIPPIE RECIPES

59 Comments

  1. April 12, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    Oh my gosh I looooove the cartoon. LMAO!

    • Lisa Reed said,

      April 30, 2013 at 7:57 PM

      I recently made the decision to go poo free and it’s been a wonderful experience! my hair has never, never, never felt or looked better. Just this morning i started searching for a recipe for homemade hairspray. i found this, made it and tried it and am positively amazed at how it works!! thanks to you for sharing! :)

      • May 25, 2013 at 5:23 PM

        Lisa, I’m so glad you liked it. I never in a million years thought that it would actually work. I thought I would be wasting a few teaspoons of sugar :) How is the no shampoo going? I tried it twice, and chickened out half way thru both times. I could never stay with it long enough to get through the greasy hair phase :)

  2. April 12, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    Awesome! What a great idea… who knew sugar had so many uses :)

  3. April 12, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    Does it make the countertops a little sticky?

    • April 12, 2012 at 12:14 PM

      I haven’t noticed sticky countertops. I have noticed sticky forehead a couple of times though :) Only if I over do it…

  4. April 12, 2012 at 2:00 PM

    Too cool for words. I am trying to natural up my personal care products with as much homemade as possible. It’s a gradual process, but this might just be the next step :)

    • April 12, 2012 at 3:14 PM

      Gabby, I’m glad you stopped by. I think you’ll be just as shocked as I was that this recipe actually works. Blew my mind.

  5. April 12, 2012 at 4:18 PM

    Wonderful news thank you so much for all the wonderful ideas that you post :)

    • April 12, 2012 at 6:40 PM

      Jackie, thank you so much for reading! And for being my faithful guinea pigs….bwa ha ha!

  6. April 12, 2012 at 9:11 PM

    I am going to try this! I was just about out of hair spray, so I’ll have an empty bottle!

    Does it leave your hair sticky at all? And did you use white sugar or raw?

    • April 13, 2012 at 10:42 AM

      Julie, I used plain white table sugar, although I don’t think it would matter much. I happen to have sugar around the house because my Kombucha loves to eat it :) My hair isn’t sticky. It works exactly like regular hairspray. It washes out more easily than regular hairpray and leaves no build up. Let me know how you like it. I’m curious to hear feedback on this one!

  7. April 12, 2012 at 9:37 PM

    this is awesome!!! trying this soon. still waiting for my beeswax in the mail. can’t wait to make your anti wrinkle eye cream.

  8. pixilated2 said,

    April 13, 2012 at 11:23 PM

    This sounds too good to be true… I’m trying it! ~ Lynda

  9. Stephanie said,

    April 14, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    What a great idea! I never ever thought you could make your own hairspray! I will be trying this soon – can’t wait to see how it turns out! Thanks for sharing!

    • April 14, 2012 at 9:00 AM

      Let me know how you like it. I love slowly eliminating beauty products one by one…

      • Stephanie said,

        April 14, 2012 at 9:03 AM

        I will – I have been doing the same thing in the kitchen, slowly eliminating the processed foods. Definitely something to start doing in other areas!

  10. April 15, 2012 at 1:07 PM

    I love it! Trying this when I go out this weekend!

  11. May 4, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    [...] detergent, window/glass cleaner, all purpose cleanser and disinfectant, lotion, wrinkle cream, hair spray, toothpaste, mouthwash, and lip balm and now it’s time to tackle scouring [...]

  12. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    [...] Hairspray (make my own for a penny) [...]

  13. May 9, 2012 at 1:11 AM

    [...] Homemade Hairspray (it really works!) (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  14. Danni Maddox said,

    August 14, 2012 at 2:51 PM

    Do you have to heat the water on the stove? Do you think brown sugar would work?

    • September 21, 2012 at 10:42 AM

      I do heat the water on the stove. And I don’t know about brown sugar, it has molasses in it and might be overly sticky….

    • Bhoomi Chudasama said,

      September 4, 2013 at 7:26 AM

      Nope it wont you need white sugar :)

  15. diksha said,

    September 16, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    i tooo am gonna try it ,,,but for how many days i should use it after making as i dont use hairspray often

    • September 21, 2012 at 10:49 AM

      I don’t use hairspray often either, so i just make 1 cup at a time. I’ve had the same bottle for 3 months now, and it’s still working fine. I don’t know if it would expire or not, but I doubt it.

  16. nicola cam said,

    November 9, 2012 at 8:43 AM

    back when I was a teenager (a long,long time ago) my mom told me to mix water and sugar because I had run out of hairspray and it really works, thank you for reminding me about this as i’m out of spray today LOL

  17. akilee1------> said,

    November 14, 2012 at 8:13 PM

    I HOPE THIS WORKS I REALLY NEED IT

  18. November 14, 2012 at 8:16 PM

    I hope this doesn’t create split ends. How do I not create split ends? Will this work with long hair? I have really long long hair. Please let me know :D THANKYOU!!!

  19. November 14, 2012 at 8:17 PM

    Do you we have to use organic sugar? Is there such thing called organic sugar ?

    • January 29, 2013 at 4:45 PM

      For hair I don’t use organic. If I was eating the hairspray that would be a different story :)

  20. Julie said,

    November 17, 2012 at 4:32 PM

    Great idea! My sister and I live together, and the amount of hairspray we go through together is ridiculous! We read ur recipe and think Its an awesome idea to save money for more important things. Just one question though, we use a curling iron every day, would there be crystalization from the heat of the curling iron that could effect out hair?

  21. Alette said,

    November 23, 2012 at 3:31 AM

    I’m a boer from South Africa looking after poor old people. Thank you, now i can do the granny’s hair and save a lot. You guys are a fine lot of people. God bless. Alette

  22. MichelleMaBell said,

    November 27, 2012 at 7:27 PM

    Great idea!! And love the wrinkle cream idea :) Me & my mum r going 2 try it! Ur lucky you come up with these great ideas :) x

  23. December 22, 2012 at 6:33 PM

    Yeah a natural holding spray for my soft silky long hair

  24. shivani said,

    February 3, 2013 at 9:25 AM

    hi..am very interested with ur spray..i hav a question though..i hav straight hair n doest hold curls..should i curl my hair then apply it?please answer me..excuse my english..kiss

  25. kasyaubree said,

    February 13, 2013 at 12:43 AM

    This is amazing! At work I was looking at a bottle of hairspray to get more since I was almost out and found this amazing idea!!! Trying to go chemical free! ! Thanks a bunch! !

  26. March 1, 2013 at 12:45 AM

    omg!!!! it reallyyy works!!!
    thanks for sharing!! :)))

  27. April 7, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  28. April 7, 2013 at 5:39 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  29. April 7, 2013 at 6:28 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  30. April 7, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  31. April 7, 2013 at 6:56 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  32. April 7, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  33. April 7, 2013 at 7:18 PM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  34. April 11, 2013 at 12:01 AM

    [...] Homemade Hippie Hair Spray [...]

  35. May 6, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    [...] a little searching online I found a simple recipe and whipped up a batch.  (Next time, for a more paleo effect,  I’m going to try this idea [...]

  36. Dee said,

    May 22, 2013 at 5:18 PM

    OK What did I do wrong. I tried the hairspray which dirtied up my hair a bit but had no hold. I have fine, medium length layered hair. Water not hot enough? Too Hot? Is it actually 4 tsps of sugar or shouhld it be 4 tablespoons?

    • May 25, 2013 at 4:55 PM

      Dee, it is 4 teaspoons. And the temperature of the water doesn’t really matter, just as long as the sugar is completely dissolved. Perhaps the bottle you’re using doesn’t have a fine enough mist? I find that if i barely mist my hair, let it completely dry, and then mist my hair again it works best. It is water based after all, so it’s not going to be a strong mega-hold spray.

  37. Dani said,

    May 31, 2013 at 8:34 AM

    Oh, I so wanted to love this but, sadly, that is not the case. No hold and lots of stickiness. I’ll go back to my Aubrey Organics hairspray … my saving grace being that I don’t use hairspray on a daily basis anymore so I can afford to pay a bit more (an 8 oz. bottle will easily last me a year).

  38. June 7, 2013 at 9:24 PM

    […] you know, my current no-chemical, all-herbal, expensive brand is causing me to itch. Also, every country has sugar and water. Every […]

  39. Tammy said,

    June 9, 2013 at 2:20 PM

    Who would have thought?? Can’t wait to try this! I just found your site and I love it!

  40. Shreela Sen said,

    June 28, 2013 at 4:34 PM

    Splendid cartoon. My entire hair is like that. I have a full head of fly-aways/ bad-hair-life. My problem is, I read the horror stories about stuff, before the actual advertisements hit my community … hair driers to genetically modified food. Hair spray has always been prohibitively expensive for me, & so I was here. Quite frankly, I’m dead suspicious about putting sugar in my hair. I’s certain my hair is now going to be “candy-fied”. Okay! Tomorrow is the fateful day!

  41. Bhoomi Chudasama said,

    September 4, 2013 at 7:22 AM

    OMG you are so awesome!
    I am glad that I found this site :’) :D

  42. Ro said,

    September 16, 2013 at 8:52 AM

    I was so amazed that this actually does work, I just had to post here right away! By the way, the first bottle I used, I forgot to let the water cool down and it melted… might want to put that up there in caps even though it was extremely stupid of me. Anyways, for this I used an old perfume bottle, so it doesn’t smell badly or anything. I love this!

  43. Amber said,

    November 22, 2013 at 8:22 PM

    This totally worked. I put the sugar into boiled water to melt it (I’m impatient), and mixed it with some cold water to cool it before putting it into an old hair spray bottle. I’m so shocked that it worked I had to comment. Thank you for this recipe! I remember my mom telling me once that punk rockers used sugar water to get their mohawks to stand up, and I didn’t believe her. Now I do!

    • January 10, 2014 at 8:12 PM

      Amber, i was shocked too. Isn’t it funny that it works? I still can’t really believe it


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 896 other followers

