Homemade Hippie Windex for .12 cents a bottle

Homemade Windex

1/4 C Rubbing Alcohol

1/2 C White Vinegar

1 1/4 C water

If you like: a splash of blue food coloring to fake out the haters in the household 

Pour all ingredients into a spray bottle and shake.

This couldn’t be easier! I figured out my price based on what I paid for the ingredients. I pay .06 cents for 1/2 cup of vinegar. I pay .06 cents for 1/2 cup of rubbing alcohol. I don’t add food coloring. I made a 16 ounce bottle of Windex for .12 cents! And it really does work. I’ve tried many window cleaner recipes with lots of unnecessary ingredients, and this works just as well as the real thing.

Related Posts:

Homemade Hippie All Purpose Cleaner and Disinfectant

Homemade Hippie Orange Cleaner

Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder

Homemade Hippie Dishwasher Detergent

A Complete List of Homemade Hippie Recipes

16 Comments

  1. motherherbs said,

    February 19, 2012 at 2:24 PM

    I love making my own cleaning products! I haven’t tried window cleaner…mainly because I don’t have very many windows in our our under-construction home. It’s next on my list of things to make!
    Thanks

    • February 19, 2012 at 2:29 PM

      Thank you for the comment. I try to be both eco-friendly and frugal in my approach to cleaning products. I would love to learn how to make soap next!

  2. March 19, 2012 at 6:07 AM

    […] Homemade Windex […]

  3. May 4, 2012 at 1:14 AM

    […] cleaning and beauty products as I run out of them. So far I have made my own dishwasher detergent, window/glass cleaner, all purpose cleanser and disinfectant, lotion, wrinkle cream, hair spray, toothpaste, mouthwash, […]

  4. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    […] Windex (so easy to make) […]

  5. April 7, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Windex for $0.12 […]

  6. April 7, 2013 at 7:25 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Windex for 0.12 a bottle! […]

  7. April 7, 2013 at 7:42 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Windex for 0.12 cents per bottle […]

  8. April 11, 2013 at 12:02 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Windex for $0.12 […]

  9. May 26, 2013 at 1:03 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Windex for 0.12 cents a bottle […]

  10. June 7, 2013 at 9:24 PM

    […] Windex and More […]

  11. roamingchile said,

    October 18, 2013 at 4:30 PM

    What percentage of alcohol does the rubbing alcohol have?

  12. Kristy said,

    November 23, 2013 at 8:50 AM

    I use equal parts of each, without food coloring. I use this on everything!! It makes my granite countertops and stainless steal appliances sparkle! I love how it leaves my windows clean and STREAK FREE, even when they are washed while the sunlight is on them. I love that its SAFE too!

  13. February 24, 2014 at 2:32 PM

    I just shared this on my blog! Thank you for sharing! http://tryingtobeafrugalmomma.blogspot.com/2014/02/made-from-scratch-mondays-homemade_24.html

  14. June 22, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    […] use a recipe similiar to this one (minus the blue food coloring). You can’t go wrong with only 3 ingredients! If you have hard […]

  15. October 14, 2014 at 12:53 PM

    […] came across this blog, A Real Food Lover blog, that had a Homemade Hippie Windex for $.12 a bottle!  I admit I was very skeptical.  […]


Leave a Reply

