How to make flour tortillas

I always thought that making homemade tortillas would be difficult. I was prepared for several failed attempts. I was really surprised when it turned out to take only 20  minutes!

Flour Tortillas (1 dozen large burrito size)

3 1/2 Cups Flour (I used sprouted whole wheat)

2 tsp sea salt

2 tsp homemade Baking Powder

1/3 Cup butter

1 Cup Hot water

Mix dry ingredients in bowl. Cut in butter with a fork or pastry cutter, until like coarse crumbs. Stir in hot water. Knead for exactly 3 minutes. If you are using a food processor pulse for 30 seconds, rest, then pulse for 30 seconds.

Let dough rest for 15 minutes. Take this time to preheat your cast iron skillet or other heavy pan to medium high. I fry these dry with no oil because they store better that way, but you can very lightly oil the pan if you like. Too much oil and your tortillas will be crunchy like giant tortilla chips!

Separate dough into balls about 2″ in diameter.

Roll out dough balls on floured surface. Flour the counter and your rolling-pin. Tortillas should be very thin, almost to the point of breaking through. I like to roll out all the dough and then fry, but if you’re a great multitasker you can do it all at once.

Place tortilla on very hot pan. As soon as you see bubbles form (about 1 minute) flip and cook 1 minute more.

Can you believe it’s that easy? I couldn’t! My boyfriend Rob is really appreciating these right now. His mother is from Mexico and he told me once that the food he missed the most is fresh tortillas straight out of the pan smothered in butter. I’m so glad they turned out this good on the first try!

I’m going to try traditional corn tortillas next. I’ll let you know how it goes. Wish me luck!

P.S Have you ever had a tortilla roll with almond butter and strawberries? You should try it!

13 Comments

  1. February 17, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    […] This is a great protein rich breakfast to make at the beginning of the work week. I cut it into squares and put it in lunches. Its yummy wrapped in a homemade tortilla. […]

  2. February 22, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    […] raisins if desired. I love this as is, with a big dollop of butter on top. Rob scoops his up with a homemade tortilla and adds salsa verde. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  3. February 25, 2012 at 6:57 AM

    […] really want to impress someone you can make your own tortilla chips in a hurry. I take the leftover homemade tortillas that are a little on the stale side and cut them into triangles. Fry them in a cast iron skillet in […]

  4. 35aweek said,

    March 3, 2012 at 5:03 PM

    I usually use a tortilla press, but it looks like you were able to roll them out thin enough with a rolling pin. This is good news; I didn’t like being limited to the size created by the press. I’ll have to try this and make giant burrito ones!

  5. March 24, 2012 at 5:24 AM

    […] with 2 forks or cut into strips and serve with homemade tortillas, sour cream, shredded cheese, salsa […]

  6. April 3, 2012 at 5:26 PM

    great recipe. i haven’t made these in awhile. I am going to try your version next!

  7. April 14, 2012 at 2:11 AM

    […] large homemade tortillas, […]

  8. RedDesilets said,

    April 21, 2012 at 8:25 PM

    Do you sprout your own wheat then mill into flour? I don’t have the capabilities of doing this right now and was considering trying to use the sourdough starter on this to get rid of the gluten and other nasties…

    • April 21, 2012 at 10:34 PM

      I buy sprouted flour from the health food store. A grain mill is not currently in the budget.

      • RedDesilets said,

        April 22, 2012 at 9:42 AM

        I’ll have to check it out here…. Thanks!

  9. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    […] Tortillas (make them myself corn and flour) […]

  10. Teresa said,

    January 21, 2013 at 1:13 PM

    These are yummy!


Leave a Reply

