My favorite soaked Oatmeal

There are a gazillion soaked oatmeal recipes out there. I am a big fan of oatmeal, and this is a great, quick breakfast for those of us who have banned the dreaded box of cereal from the house 🙂

My Favorite Soaked Oatmeal

Advance preparation: you are soaking the oatmeal for 24 hours, so start this meal 1 day before you actually want to eat it. You can make a large batch if you like, as it reheats very well.

2 cups rolled oats or steel-cut oats

3 cups pure water

1/4 cup whey (or buttermilk, kefir, or yogurt)

Mix in a stainless steel or glass saucepan and leave out on the kitchen counter for 24 hours. The grains will soak and develop a wonderful flavor. The soaking also reduces the number of phytates in the grain. Phytates are an anti-nutrient. Meaning they carry vitamins and mineral out of the body.

Place saucepan on burner and turn on medium heat. To the pot add:

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup walnuts

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup raw maple syrup

dash of salt

Cook 10 minutes. I don’t know what it is about this particular combination, but I can’t get enough of it. It is creamy, but crunchy. Sweet, with a vague hint of sour. I love the tartness of the cranberry mixed with maple. Who knew a person could get so excited about oatmeal 😉

6 Comments

  1. March 17, 2012 at 6:47 AM

    […] for ways to get more coconut into your body? How about cornbread, soaked oatmeal, simple body lotion. I also use it for the majority of my frying (It leaves no coconut flavor). I […]

  2. April 16, 2012 at 9:44 AM

    […] My favorite soaked oatmeal recipe […]

  3. Lisa said,

    June 15, 2013 at 10:18 PM

    Just wondering do you rinse the oats once they have finished soaking prior to cooking?

    • June 16, 2013 at 10:38 AM

      Lisa, I do not rinse the oats, they usually absorb most of the water. You certainly can, but I just cook it right in the soaking water.

  4. stfni said,

    March 31, 2014 at 10:32 AM

    Did you alter your oatmeal recipe after reading the research re no calcium-containing ingredients to the soaking medium?

  5. Jai Mistry said,

    February 6, 2015 at 6:57 AM

    I have two cavities I have healed two completely. But these two are taking long. How long does one have to keep going on with the fermented cod liver oil. Can we give a break for say a week or two every 6 wks or so? I have been taking now for 4 months 3 capsules daily. Your reply will be highly appreciated..Many thanks


Leave a Reply

