Real Food Nacho Cheese Sauce

I love nachos! It am a bit of a cheese addict I must admit. But us real foodies love to read our labels don’t we? That means no more cheese sauce out of a can 🙂

Real Food Nacho Cheese Sauce

1/2 cup yogurt cheese

1 cup raw cheddar cheese, cubed

1 1/2  cups raw whole milk

splash of hot sauce

1 jalapeno peppers seeded and chopped

half of a small red bell pepper, diced

1/4 raw whole milk

2 Tbsp flour

In saucepan melt cheddar and yogurt cheese. Add hot sauce, peppers and half of the milk (3/4 cup) Stir until incorporated well. Add remaining milk and stir.

Mix 1/4 cup of milk and flour, whisk to remove lumps. Add this to your cheese mixture and boil gently until thick.

Now if you really want to impress someone you can make your own tortilla chips in a hurry. I take the leftover homemade tortillas that are a little on the stale side and cut them into triangles. Fry them in a cast iron skillet in really hot oil. It doesn’t take long, maybe 2-3 minutes. I use beef tallow and they are so delicious. I love me some beef fat! 🙂

This recipe freezes and reheats very well. If you want to make a large batch, go ahead! Stores in the fridge for 1 week, or in the freezer for 3-6 months.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Elena said,

    February 26, 2012 at 2:22 PM

    I’m going to have to try this. It’s making my mouth water just looking at the pics!

    • February 26, 2012 at 2:36 PM

      You’ll love it. Plus having anything that freezes well and reheats in a few minutes in a saucepan is a blessing. There are days that are just too hectic to cook.

      • Elena said,

        February 26, 2012 at 3:08 PM

        Yes! It took me too long to learn how to use leftovers to my advantage… It really is possible to have homemade meals that take barely any time to make when you plan ahead. I’m going to check back to read more of your tips and recipes!

      • February 26, 2012 at 3:23 PM

        My favorite method is to just make a double dinner. If I’m making lasagna or mac & cheese, or shepherds pie, I just make 2 of them. Wrap one up uncooked and put it in the freezer. Thank you for visiting!


Leave a Reply

