Real Food Taco Soup in the Crock Pot

Taco soup

Real Food Taco Soup in the Crock Pot

Makes 3 quarts

1 lb ground beef or venison

1 large onion diced

1/2 Tbsp chili powder

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp cayenne

4 cloves garlic minced

2 cans (15 oz each) pinto beans

1 can (28 oz) fire roasted crushed tomatoes undrained

1 can sweet corn

1 can (4 oz) green chiles

1 Quart homemade chicken stock

2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp pepper

In skillet brown meat, onion and garlic. Add spices and let simmer. Add meat mixture and all remaining ingredients to crock pot. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

Serve topped with cheese, sour cream, green onion, tomatoes or tortilla chips. Rob loves this with tortilla chips and lots of cheddar cheese. So do I! I made this large of a batch with the intention of freezing half of it, but we ended up eating it all before I had a chance to put any in the freezer.

This post featured on Easy Natural FoodAllergy Free Wednesdays

15 Comments

  1. Alia said,

    February 27, 2012 at 11:19 PM

    This looks great and I love using my crock pot. I`m definitely going to try this recipe!

  2. March 2, 2012 at 11:13 PM

    Yum! I love taco soup and yours looks perfect! Thanks for sharing at allergy free wednesdays. Hope to see you again next week!

  3. mjskit said,

    March 4, 2012 at 12:32 PM

    A perfect soup for colder weather. Very warm, and comforting and those wonderful spices and vegetables in homemade broth would really clear my sinuses right now! 🙂 Great recipe!

    • March 4, 2012 at 2:25 PM

      Yes it will definitely clear up your nose. Add a little extra cayenne and you’ll be breathing clearly in no time 🙂

  4. March 6, 2012 at 4:30 AM

    […] Friday:  Taco Soup […]

  5. March 7, 2012 at 12:34 AM

    This is making my mouth water! It looks so tasty, I’d love a big bowl of this! Pinned it for future reference 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with Sunday Night Soup Night! I’ll be hosting weekly through fall and winter, so I’d love to see you again with your next soup/stock/chowder recipe.

  6. March 8, 2012 at 5:58 PM

    I just tweeted this soup as one of my favorites from Sunday Night Soup Night! Thanks for linking up and hope to see you again soon 🙂

  7. March 12, 2012 at 2:49 PM

    Looks wonderful. Pinning it to try soon.
    Found you via Sunday Soup Night at Easy Natural Food.
    ~ Dana
    Cooking at Cafe D

    • March 12, 2012 at 5:22 PM

      I just made a batch of this over the weekend. I figured I better hurry and get my soup fix before winter is over 🙂

  8. March 13, 2012 at 10:04 AM

    I made this soup last night and it was so tasty, a hit with the kids, and super easy! Thank you so much. I shared it today on my FB page so that my readers will enjoy it as well. I got started a little late, so used the stove top instead of the crockpot. I also used leftover Mexican rice for the corn b/c we can’t have corn. Thanks so much for sharing; it will be on our regular rotation! I’m pinning it too.

    • March 13, 2012 at 11:53 AM

      Michelle, I’m so glad you liked it. I think it has just the right amound of spiciness for the kids too. Thank you for sharing. One of these days I’ll join the 21st century and get on facebook 🙂

  9. pixilated2 said,

    March 14, 2012 at 5:59 PM

    This does look good, and I like that you added the option of using beef or vinison! Thanks for your compliments and for following. BTW, I am reciprocating. 🙂
    ~ Lynda

  10. March 20, 2012 at 5:29 AM

    […] Real Food Taco Soup in the Crockpot from A Real Food Lover […]

  11. April 7, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    […] Real Food Taco Soup (in the crockpot) […]


Leave a Reply

