Country Fried Steak

I order meat, cheese and dairy from a local farmer. I wish that I could afford to eat T-bone steaks every week, because I could live on them, but I am definitely not made of money. I have often purchased round or swiss steaks and made beef jerky out of them, but they don’t make the most tender entrée  in the world. Then I remembered country fried steak and voilà dinner was born!

Country Fried Steak (dinner for 2)

2 round steaks (cube steak or swiss steak are good too)

1 cup flour

2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 cup oil for frying (I used beef tallow)

2 Tbsp butter for frying

Place meat on cutting board and pound with the spiky side of a meat hammer. You want it to be well tenderized, flat and thin. Mix flour with spices and dredge meat in flour. Coat both sides liberally.

Heat the oil in skillet until very hot. Add butter just before you place meat in pan. Fry meat until it is dark brown and then flip. Remove from pan and place on paper towels to drain. Serve with potatoes au gratin, steamed vegetables or rice pilaf.

This turned out much better than I expected. It was delicious in fact. I imagine this would be a great use for venison as well, I’m going to try that next.

This recipe featured on Making your Home Sing Monday

5 Comments

  1. March 5, 2012 at 12:09 PM

    I want this for lunch today! 🙂 Looks great!

    • March 5, 2012 at 2:55 PM

      It really was better than I expected. And not to gross anyone out with my hillbilly ways….but I ate the leftovers the next day for lunch COLD!

  2. March 6, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    […] Irish in me  This is a versatile side dish and goes well with just about anything. Try it with Country Fried Steak, Meatloaf, Venison Backstrap, or Fried Chicken. Next time I want to try a mixture of Gruyère and […]

  3. momstheword said,

    March 9, 2012 at 12:51 PM

    It looks yummy. We don’t have round steak very often but now I’m thinking I should pick some up, lol! Thanks for linking up to Making Your Home Sing Monday!

  4. April 7, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    […] Country Fried Steak […]


Leave a Reply

