Potatoes Au Gratin

 

Potatoes Au Gratin

4 potatoes, scrubbed clean

2 Tbsp butter to grease baking dish

1 1/2 cup raw heavy cream

1/2 cup whole raw milk

2 Tbsp flour or arrowroot powder

3-5 cloves of garlic, minced

Sea salt & fresh ground pepper

1 cup raw cheddar cheese

8 pieces pastured bacon, cooked and crumbled

  • Cook and crumble the bacon. Slice potatoes into discs (don’t bother peeling them). Butter your casserole dish.
  • In a bowl mix cream, milk, flour, garlic and spices.
  • In casserole dish layer 1/3 of the potatoes, 1/3 of the milk mixture, and 1/3 of the bacon. Repeat until you are out of ingredients.
  • Cover dish with foil and bake in 400 degree oven for 35 minutes.
  • Remove foil and bake for 25 minutes.
  • Cover with cheddar cheese and place back in the oven until cheese is melted. 3-5 minutes.

I could eat this by itself as a main dish, must be the Irish in me 🙂 This is a versatile side dish and goes well with just about anything. Try it with Country Fried Steak, Meatloaf, Venison Backstrap, or Fried Chicken. Next time I want to try a mixture of Gruyère and Parmesan cheese. Yum!

This recipe featured on Day 2 Day Joys  and Crystal & Co

4 Comments

  1. March 23, 2012 at 5:58 AM

    […] Maybe I’m one of the last people on earth who like meatloaf. Maybe meatloaf has fallen out of favor. Maybe meatloaf is the leper of the modern kitchen. I don’t care. I eat it anyway   This recipe is fast, and involves no special ingredients. It is excellent with fresh green beans and potatoes au gratin. […]

  2. March 16, 2013 at 6:14 AM

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. September 22, 2013 at 4:46 PM

    I think this is one of the most important info for me. And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should remark on some general things, The website taste is perfect, the articles is actually great : D. Excellent process, cheers


Leave a Reply

