What’s that on your face?

Liquid Foundation makeup is made from more than 200 ingredients! Cosmetics are the least regulated products under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA). The FFDCA does not require pre-market safety testing, review, or approval for cosmetics.  The National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health found that 884 of the chemicals available for use in cosmetics have been reported to the government as toxic substances. At his moment the FDA has committed zero resources for assessing the safety problems of those chemicals which have been found to cause genetic damage, biological mutations, and cancer. Because of minimal regulation, products plainly dangerous to your health can be, and are, being sold.

Most common ingredients in your everyday facial products:

  • Alkylphenol Ethoylates
  • Benzene
  • Coal Tar
  • Benzoic Acid
  • Methyl
  • Butyl
  • Benzyl Benzoate
  • Propyl
  • Sodium Laurel Sulfate
  • Ethyl Paraben
  • Dibutyl Phthalate
  • Diethanolamine
  • Triethanolamine
  • Diazolidinyl Urea
  • Imidazolidinyl Urea
  • Formaldehyde
  • Synthetic fragrances
  • Isopropanol
  • Lead Acetate
  • Mercury
  • Isopropyl Alcohol
  • Methylisothiazoline
  • Parabens
  • petrolatum
  • Petroleum Distillates
  • Phthalates
  • Propylene Glycol
  • PVP
  • Stearalkonium Chloride
  • Synthetic Dyes
  • Siloxanes
  • Triclosan
  • Bronopol
  • Talc (put down the baby powder!)
  • Silica

Every one of these ingredients  is a known carcinogen. And this is only a partial list! The skin is extremely permeable. Cosmetic ingredients most certainly are absorbed through the skin. Some chemicals may penetrate the skin in significant amounts, especially when left on the skin for long periods, as in the case of facial makeup. One study showed that 73 percent of the cosmetic preservative butylate hydroxytoluene (BHT) and 69 percent of the carcinogenic pesticide DDT (which is found in some cosmetics containing lanolin) is absorbed through the skin.

So what can you do?

First I would visit the Skin Deep database online, and put the makeups and personal care products that you are currently using  into the search bar. Find out what they contain, and if they are safe. The Skin Deep database is sponsored by the Environmental Working Group, and their goal is to create online safety profiles for cosmetics and personal care products.

Product Recommendation

I stumbled across a really amazing product about 3 years ago online. My friend and I were talking about all the different mineral makeups out there and how most of them still contain talc and bismuth oxychloride, every brand I had ever researched was incredibly expensive as well. My cost for a year supply of mineral foundation alone would have been well over $250! So I got my nerd on, and started searching. I called several companies and asked lots of questions about the ingredients. I ended up with ONE company from my list of 22 that offered to email me a complete list of their ingredients.

Everyday Minerals

Ingredients:

  • Mica (a natural mineral colorant)
  • Lauroyl Lysine (Lauroyl lysine is a derivative of lauric acid and lysine, a naturally occurring amino acid)
  •  Zinc Oxide (Zinc Oxide is an inorganic oxide used as a colorant and sunscreen agent)
  •  Iron Oxide (Iron oxides are inorganic minerals used as colorants)

That’s it! These are all natural minerals mined from the earth, and they are all particulates too big to be absorbed by the skin. I have used the mineral base makeup ($12) the eye shadows ($4.50)  lip color ($6) lip balm ($7) and blush ($5) for 3 years now. The coverage is superb and it lasts a very long time! It does not dry your skin out, or settle into fine lines and wrinkles. They have a wide variety of colors, and they offer free samples so you can find the correct color for your skin!  (I don’t make one penny if you use this company, I just like to recommend products that support a healthy body). I have had several people comment that I look younger than my age, I think it’s because these minerals make your skin look even and fresh and moist. (plus I eat coconut oil and butter by the tablespoon. mmm butter)

I spend $35 dollars on makeup and it lasts me more than a year. My last order from Everyday Minerals was in May of 2011 and I have over 1/3 of a container of foundation left. I wear makeup 6-7 days a week, so a little must go a looonnnnggg way 🙂

So happy makeup shopping! Don’t forget to select your free sample, then you can try out all the new colors for free.

18 Comments

  1. Alia said,

    March 10, 2012 at 1:52 PM

    Great post! I love checking all of my products against the Skin Deep site and getting away from all of the unnecessary chemicals.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:46 PM

      Thanks Alia, so do I. Amazing how much junk they put in our products. Most of them don’t even need to be in there. It makes no sense to me.

  2. Basic29 Healthy Living said,

    March 10, 2012 at 8:14 PM

    Excellent information! I use Everyday Minerals too. Great products!!

  3. jane said,

    March 11, 2012 at 6:32 PM

    Awesome! Thanks for the information! I’ve been looking for a more natural makeup, so I will look into this!

    • March 11, 2012 at 8:17 PM

      You’ll love mineral makeup, it feels so good on your skin, doesn’t wear off at all through out the day, and is a natural sun screen. Enjoy!

  4. Sarah Bosse said,

    March 14, 2012 at 9:02 PM

    Actually, I use Everyday Minerals too. I started using them a few years ago when I was searching for gluten free makeup that didn’t have all that junk in it! Wonderful company! 😀

    Gutsy Girl
    http://naturallygutsy.com

  5. March 19, 2012 at 6:07 AM

    […] Mineral Make-up […]

  6. March 20, 2012 at 12:04 PM

    I just started the process of switching to the mineral make-up and am so glad I have (still haven’t completed my switchover), mainly because makeup can be expensive so doing it one step at a time 🙂 Anyway, wanted to say great article and thank you!

    • March 20, 2012 at 1:28 PM

      Thank you, for commenting! Money was a factor for me too. Some of the mineral make-ups out there are way to expensive for me, and contain talc. So I was really excited to find one that was affordable and healthy.

  7. March 22, 2012 at 5:35 AM

    […] Mineral Make-up […]

  8. Jaen Wirefly said,

    March 26, 2012 at 12:06 PM

    I’ve spent untold hours on the Skin Deep website. It’s fantastic. BTW – LOVE your blog!

    • March 26, 2012 at 1:26 PM

      I love that website too. It’s addictive and scary, you can’t stop watching. Kinda like reality TV 🙂

  9. ThriftyNut said,

    March 28, 2012 at 5:14 PM

    I am so excited to read your posts. Now, YOU are talking my language! lol Looking forward to more!

  10. gail said,

    June 8, 2012 at 10:18 PM

    Just made my first order with everyday minerals! Thanks!

    • June 12, 2012 at 3:26 PM

      Gail, enjoy! I just love their product so much. And playing with colors is a blast. I really love the fact that you can mix two of the base makeups together to make your original shade darker or lighter. Perfect as we get darker and lighter from sun exposure….

      • gail said,

        June 29, 2012 at 10:14 PM

        Received my samples and loving them! So glad I came across your blog while searching for mineral makeup. Have enjoyed reading your posts and plan to make some of your Hippie beauty products! I always wanted to be a hippie!

  11. Meg Bovell said,

    May 26, 2013 at 8:35 AM

    Great site…
    Appreciate your time spent doing sooo much research !!!!

    Meg

  12. June 7, 2013 at 9:24 PM

    […] is always going to be an expensive issue, I think. Here’s a blurb, and link, to what looks to be the healthiest option out […]


Leave a Reply

