Real Food Macaroni and Cheese

I'm so lucky! My local farmer sells a huge variety of raw, organic cheeses.

Did I mention that I love cheese? Perhaps just a little too much? What can I say, me and cheese go way back! Here is one of my favorite cheese dishes. I like it as-is, or with bacon. I usually make a double batch, and keep some for lunches.

Real Food Mac & Cheese

8 oz brown rice macaroni

3 Tbsp salted butter

3 Tbsp flour or arrowroot powder

3 cups whole raw milk

3 cups grated cheese of choice ( I like to be crazy and combine 2-3 different cheeses)

4 oz grated Parmesan

1 1/2 tsp fresh black pepper

1 tsp mustard powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook macaroni noodles, drain and place in casserole dish.

While the pasta is cooking, melt butter in cast iron skillet or saucepan. Whisk in flour and cook for 1-2 minutes until golden. Continue whisking and add milk. Bring this to a simmer until thick.

Add 2 1/2 cups of the cheese (reserve the remaining 1/2 cup for the topping). Add Parmesan, pepper, and mustard. Stir until melted. Taste and add sea salt as needed. The tasting is my favorite part!

Pour cheese sauce over noodles. Top with reserved 1/2 cup cheese. Bake in 350 degree oven 40-50 minutes or until golden brown and bubbling.

This is my all-time favorite food to eat for lunch the next day. I think I need to go to cheese addicts anonymous 🙂 Or just give in, and buy a milk cow!

The finished product. Don't you love how raw cheeses don't have that ugly orange dye in them?

7 Comments

  1. jane said,

    March 11, 2012 at 12:32 PM

    Wow, you are lucky you can get raw cheese! I love cheese too … looks so good!

    • March 11, 2012 at 1:33 PM

      I am really lucky, I would love to learn how to make hard cheeses myself. Someday!

  2. bethzare said,

    March 11, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    Have you tried this recipe in a slow cooker? Would you recommend any changes if I did that? Thanks.

    • March 11, 2012 at 1:35 PM

      A slow cooker is my best friend. I haven’t tried mac & cheese in there though. I don’t think you would have to change anything, but I would worry about the noodles getting way too mushy cooking for so long. So your cook time should only be abot 4 hours or so on low I would think.

      Let me know how it turns out!

  3. March 15, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    Do you make your own cheese? Where do you buy raw cheese?

    • March 15, 2012 at 3:30 PM

      I would really love to make my own cheese. Especially the hard aged cheeses. I haven’t learned how to do it yet. The farm co-op that I buy from sells raw cheese, so I’m very lucky. You can also buy raw cheese at whole foods or Trader Joes. Also a lot of groceries stores sell cheese from Europe, and they use raw cheese too. I hope you find some, it’s delicious!

  4. Pollyanna Hopes said,

    May 1, 2014 at 10:41 PM

    What are the benefits of using raw milk and cheeses when you heat? I would think that you would destroy any healthy benefits of the cheese and milk.
    I’ve been using one milk for three and half years and have not made any of my old recipes that heat the milk with the cheeses. Have I been missing out on something?


Leave a Reply

