Coconut Hot Cocoa

Every once in a while I crave chocolate (don’t we all?) and I either make Coconut Fudge or Coconut Hot Cocoa. This is a very simple and fast recipe. Which is a good thing, because my chocolate cravings usually happen at 10 o’clock at night 😉 I’ll post the Raw Coconut Fudge recipe for you too, don’t worry!

Coconut Hot Cocoa

2/3 cup coconut milk powder

1/4 cup cocoa powder (the brand name Green & Black’s is the best I’ve ever tasted)

1/4 cup raw maple syrup or honey

4 cups purified water, boiling

1 tsp homemade vanilla extract

Place coconut milk, cocoa powder and sweetener in a bowl or saucepan. Add just enough boiling water to make a paste and whisk until smooth (if you skip this step you will have very lumpy, chunky cocoa. Trust me, I did it!) Add remaining hot water and vanilla and whisk. Serve hot. I like mine with a teaspoon of coconut oil in it. It makes me feel very satiated and happy. This is full of good fats and stimulating to the metabolism.

If you’ve never tried coconut milk or coconut cream, they are delicious! I buy my coconut supplies from Mountain Rose Herbs or Wilderness Family Naturals. They are completely organic and raw and sustainably farmed.

And for anyone who is confused about the difference between COCOA powder and COCAO Powder:

Cocoa powder is made when chocolate liquor is pressed to remove three-quarters of its cocoa butter.  The remaining cocoa solids are processed to make fine unsweetened cocoa powder.   There are two types of unsweetened cocoa powder: natural and Dutch-processed. Cocao powder is the European way to spell Cocoa, but they are an identical food, just pronounced differently. Koh-Koh and Ka-Kow. Same food.

There are so many people in the foodie community that think Cocao powder is some healthy raw alternative to regular old cocoa powder.  Some advertising and marketing director started spelling it the french way, so they could charge more for the same product. They call it “raw cocao powder” and suddenly it’s triple the price. Go figure!

See also: Raw Chocolate Milk and Coconut Pecan Cookies

 

10 Comments

  1. March 13, 2012 at 8:03 AM

    The drink machine at my company should have this available 🙂

    • March 13, 2012 at 9:09 AM

      Wouldn’t that be nice? All we have at work to drink is a pop machine or coffee. I don’t drink either anymore so I bring lots of tea to work 🙂

  2. denlyn3 said,

    March 13, 2012 at 8:30 AM

    I’m going to have to get some coconut powder so I can make this. I haven’t had a hot chocolate in years.

    • March 13, 2012 at 9:10 AM

      Coconut milk powder or coconut cream powder work great. I love it in smoothies too. Just be sure to mix the powder with hot water first, or it gets chunky.

  3. Jane said,

    March 13, 2012 at 2:12 PM

    I had never heard of coconut milk powder until just now but I must get some now! I just started ordering coconut cream from Wilderness Family Naturals and love it!! And thanks for the info about cocoa and cocao!

    • March 13, 2012 at 3:30 PM

      You’re welcome. Coconut milk powder makes the best smoothies ever. You can use coconut cream in this hot cocoa recipe too. I don’t see any reason why it wouldn’t work! Try it and let me know how it turns out.

  4. March 15, 2012 at 10:59 PM

    […] Coconut Hot Cocoa (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebook […]

  5. March 16, 2012 at 1:35 PM

    Thank you so much for your explanation of cocoa vs. cocao! I was wondering about that.

  6. March 17, 2012 at 8:17 AM

    […] into your body? How about cornbread, soaked oatmeal, simple body lotion, Coconut Pecan Cookies, Coconut Hot Cocoa, Raw Chocolate milk. I also use it for the majority of my frying (It leaves no coconut flavor). I […]


Leave a Reply

