Traditional Mexican Enchiladas

The best enchilada I have ever eaten was at a little tiny restaurant in southern Oregon. I ordered chicken enchiladas with that spicy red sauce in mind, so I was surprised when they arrived with a creamy, cheesy mildly spicy sauce instead. The woman who owns the restaurant said that in Mexico an enchilada is rarely served with red sauce, that the traditional Mexican way is as follows:

Traditional Mexican Enchiladas

12 Fresh corn tortillas

3 cups cooked chicken, shredded

1/2 cup green onions, for garnish

1/2 cup cilantro, for garnish

2 cups homemade chicken stock

1 cup sour cream

3/4 cup onion, minced

12 oz raw cheddar cheese, shredded

4 oz chopped green chilies

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup flour

1. Heat 2 Tbsp of your favorite frying oil in heavy skillet. Fry tortillas 5 seconds each side to warm them and make them pliable. Keep on a plate in a warm oven.

2. Place all tortillas on the counter. Divide the chicken, onion and cheese into each tortilla. Roll them up and place seam side down in a greased casserole dish.

3. In the skillet melt butter. Mix in flour to make a paste. Add chicken stock while whisking. Boil until thick, like gravy. Add green chilies and sour cream, simmer to thicken.

4. Pour sauce over enchiladas. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes. Top with some extra cheese if you wish and place back in oven for 5 minutes.

5. Garnish with cilantro and green onions and serve.

I like it a little extra spicy, so I add 2 chopped jalapeno peppers with the green chilies. We serve this with rice and beans, salsa verde and a big glass of raw milk or kombucha. Enjoy!

12 Comments

  1. denlyn3 said,

    March 15, 2012 at 9:28 AM

    The sauce sounds wonderful.

    • March 15, 2012 at 10:06 AM

      You know when you’re cooking something and you have an expectation of how you want it to taste? This was exactly how I remember it, and it was so, so good!

      • denlyn3 said,

        March 15, 2012 at 7:20 PM

        I fully understand. I will make something and my wife will rave about it and I will tell her it’s not what I was looking for. She thinks I’m nuts but I’m sure you and a lot of other food bloggers understand.

  2. bethzare said,

    March 15, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    My favorite is enchiladas suisas which is covered in a tangy green tomatillos sauce. Yum, I could eat those everyday.

  3. March 15, 2012 at 12:00 PM

    Yay for Oregon! LOL These sound absolutely AMAZING! I’ve just got into making tortillas and I plan on using this recipe. Oh yum… I’m hungry now. 🙂

  4. March 15, 2012 at 12:01 PM

    Reblogged this on virtuousgracious and commented:
    These sound so amazing! We just got a tortilla press and I think these are on the menu this weekend 🙂

  5. sethdixon said,

    March 16, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    That’s awesome….que rico!

  6. March 17, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    I love enchiladas, and I can’t wait to try these!

  7. March 21, 2012 at 4:29 AM

    […] Traditional Mexican Enchiladas (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:StumbleUponTumblrTwitterFacebookDiggLinkedInRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  8. the Jilb said,

    March 31, 2012 at 7:05 PM

    These look great!

  9. lrealander said,

    February 18, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    Just made this last night. We moved from San Antonio recently and have been missing good Mexican food. The family raved! Excellent recipe. Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

