Cracker Spread with Salmon and Yogurt Cheese

I love cheese! In fact I tend to go overboard with dairy because I can’t help myself. Ever since I purchased my Viili Yogurt starter from Cultures for Health. I have had so much fun experimenting with all the different ways to use yogurt. Having a yogurt that cultures at room temperature and requires zero effort has made this a joy.

This spread is a huge hit! The smoke flavor mixes so well with the creaminess of the yogurt. Its tangy and delicious. You can also add half yogurt cheese and half cheddar or whatever your little heart desires 🙂

Smoked Salmon and Yogurt Cheese Spread

8 oz yogurt cheese (need a step by step tutorial on how to make this? Visit Cultures for Health)

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 Tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp onion minced fine

1/2 tsp prepared horseradish

16 oz Smoked Salmon cooked and flaked

1/4 pecan or almonds crushed

1 Tbsp dry parsley

Mix all in a bowl and press into a pretty serving dish, surround with your choice of crackers or mixed vegetables. Full of good fats, healthy beneficial bacteria, vitamins and minerals. You can’t go wrong here. Yogurt cheese also makes an excellent spinach and artichoke dip.

7 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    March 16, 2012 at 11:15 AM

    My husband would love this spread as he really likes smoked salmon.

  2. March 16, 2012 at 11:58 AM

    This sounds wonderful! I share your love for dairy and CHEESE! 🙂 I have not made yogurt with a actual culture yet. I’ve only used plain Greek yogurt as my “culture” and it works great, have you tired this? Do you notice a difference in flavor or texture using a bought culture? I’m cheap, lol, or at least TRY to be… any thoughts on it? I’ve wanted to buy cultures because I hear they all have different flavors but… let me know what you think 🙂 -Corri

    • March 16, 2012 at 1:25 PM

      Do you make yogurt in the crockpot and use the greek yogurt as your culture? Because I did that for years, before I started experimenting with different cultures and it tasted great. Each culture does have it’s own unique flavor. The Viili culture that I’m usuing right now, cultures at room temperature overnight, no heating required. It has a tart and somewhat sweet flavor and the texture is thin and perfect for smoothies (although you can make it thicker by straining it through cheesecloth). It cultures perpetually, so you only need to buy the culture one time. The flavor of every culture I’ve tried is only slightly different from each other, after all they are all just sour milk 🙂

      I am the ultimate cheapskate, so I understand your question. There is no real health benefit to trying other yogurt cultures, making it homemade (and saving a cup of that yogurt to use to culture the next batch) is by far the cheapest method. I only switched because my crockpot is always full of something else and I really wanted overnight-no-heat yogurt. So easy!

      • March 16, 2012 at 5:57 PM

        I actually heat the milk to 170 then let it cool to 110 and add plain greek yogurt. I put the warm liquid in quart mason jars then into the cooler over night covered (inside) with a towel. It works really well. I do like the no heat idea, similar to kefir??

  3. April 2, 2012 at 4:20 AM

    […] makes one quart-size freezer bag full of crackers. Serve with Salmon and Yogurt Cheese Cracker Spread or any sort of raw cheese. Honey Whole […]

  4. crgsen said,

    October 6, 2012 at 11:20 PM

    When you finish making Viili yogurt, will this further culture into cheese with an addition step or method? (eg. cheesecloth over time)

    • January 29, 2013 at 4:56 PM

      I truly haven’t tried. But yes, if you were to strain it I imagine it would make a soft delicious yogurt cheese.


Leave a Reply

