Real Food Meatloaf

Meatloaf isn't popular because it isn't photogenic

Maybe I’m one of the last people on earth who like meatloaf. Maybe meatloaf has fallen out of favor. Maybe meatloaf is the leper of the modern kitchen. I don’t care. I eat it anyway 🙂  This recipe is fast, and involves no special ingredients. It is excellent with fresh green beans and potatoes au gratin.

Simple Meatloaf

2 lb grass-fed ground beef (i used venison)

2 tsp garlic salt

2 tsp onion powder

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

2 free range eggs

If you would like to make this extra nourishing, this is an excellent meal in which to hide certain ingredients. Such as liver, heart or kidneys. I grind up 1/2 of one cow liver in the food processor and mix it right in with the rest. You never even know it’s there.

Mix all ingredients. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour.

Now we need to figure out a way to make meatloaf more beautiful, so it will be more popular. Maybe meatloaf pans should be heart-shaped. It also has such a boring, utilitarian name. MEAT. LOAF. It should be something french and fancy like boeuf soufflè supreme. Or perhaps  it could be a spicy and spanish dish called La Tortã Carne (I think that means beef cake, but spanish class was a very, very long time ago). Any other ideas? We really need to help meatloaf out, he’s getting a bad name.

 

 

 

18 Comments

  1. RedDesilets said,

    March 23, 2012 at 7:37 AM

    I eat meatloaf! 🙂 What a great recipe and that is a good way to start getting liver in, isn’t it? For now, the only way we get internal organs is when I make bone broths. I try to ensure we eat something with bone broth at least once a week, plus my husband will use the bone broths I make to make gravy for our meals almost every night. I’ll have to try out this recipe with some liver in it and see how it goes with the family. Thanks!

    • March 23, 2012 at 9:36 AM

      I find that pureed liver is easier to hide at first, then chopped up liver. So I would try that first. Let me know how it turns out. You won’t notice any difference i’m sure.

  2. denlyn3 said,

    March 23, 2012 at 8:26 AM

    My wife makes a great meatloaf and the key is topping it with a can of tomato soup and putting Velveeta cheese on the top to melt when the meatloaf is almost done. Certainly not the healthiest recipe, but very tasty.

  3. March 23, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    We love meat loaf too! I remember that greasy nasty stuff that we got as kids, but we get organically grown beef from a local woman and her beef does not do that greasy pit in the bottom. 🙂 Love LOVE meat loaf now! I am so glad I found your blog! We have so much in common 🙂

  4. realfoodroad said,

    March 24, 2012 at 7:10 AM

    My family loves meatloaf! But you’re right, it’s hard to make it look tasty in a photograph. 😉

  5. Cortney said,

    March 29, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    OOh, I love meatloaf too! I make some with ground turkey too. But I also shred up carrots, onions, celery, bell peppers or even apples into it. Lots of extra goodness that way. And I stole a tip from the food network and added some pureed tomatoes and sliced onions on top of the meatloaf instead of ketchup. Delicious!

    • March 29, 2012 at 12:03 PM

      Cortney, the pureed tomatoes is a great idea on top. I hadn’t thought of that. I’ll have to try it next time. We are big gravy fans around here….. 🙂

      • Cortney said,

        March 29, 2012 at 12:40 PM

        Ooh, I did one like thanksgiving dinner. Put apples in it and cranberries and topped it with gravy. Delicious!

      • March 29, 2012 at 1:05 PM

        Cortney, geez you are an even bigger hillbilly than me! (This coming from a girl who is planning a lasagna for easter….) LOL 🙂

      • Cortney said,

        March 29, 2012 at 1:16 PM

        Oh no, I didn’t make the meatloaf for Thanksgiving (though very tempting and way easier than wrangling a bird) but it tastes just like Thanksgiving. I didn’t explain that well at all. But I fully support lasagne for Easter! 🙂

      • March 29, 2012 at 1:20 PM

        My mistake, I am definately the bigger hillbilly. That cracks me up!

      • Cortney said,

        March 29, 2012 at 1:25 PM

        But that is totally not a bad thing! 🙂 I am loving your blog… keep up the great work!

  6. RedDesilets said,

    April 22, 2012 at 4:03 PM

    I told my kids it’s like eating a giant meatball! 😉 Making this right now 🙂

  7. August 2, 2012 at 1:35 PM

    […] walking the second dog. I went about prepping dinner and getting it into the oven (our new fav meatloaf recipe, but almost doubled since we are a family of five and two pounds of beef would never feed us all), […]

  8. September 6, 2012 at 2:11 PM

    […] Simple gluten free meatloaf (liver isn’t in the list of ingredients but he mentions it in the description) […]

  9. April 7, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    […] Real Food Meatloaf […]


Leave a Reply

