Real Food Taco Salad

I am not a huge salad fan, I must admit. If I do eat a salad it had better have some meat and cheese in it, or I’ll pass. This is probably a side effect of my low-fat vegetarian days in which I gagged down salad after salad with 1.3 drops of low-fat dressing in an effort to be ‘healthy’. I’ve come a long way baby!

This is easy to throw together in a hurry, and is full of nourishing fats, probiotics, minerals, enzymes and fiber. I start this recipe by cutting up any stale tortillas that are left over from the week, cutting them in triangles and frying in coconut oil or beef tallow.  Homemade tortilla chips are the bomb.

Taco Salad

2 cups tortilla chips

1 lb ground beef or venison

1 cow liver

2-3 Tbsp homemade taco seasoning

1 cup raw cheddar cheese, shredded (Colby or pepper jack cheese is also good)

1 small head of organic lettuce (I like the crispness of iceberg for this salad)

1/2 cup homemade yogurt or sour cream

2 tomatoes, diced OR 1 cup salsa

Your choice of toppings: green onions, hot peppers, salsa verde, black beans, guacamole etc.

Cut liver into small pieces, or purée in food processor. Brown beef and liver. Stir in taco seasoning. While beef is cooking shred the cheese and cut up your vegetables. Assemble your salad and enjoy. This is also good the next day as a cold lunch salad. And trust me, you won’t taste the liver, your kids won’t even know it’s in there 🙂 Serve with a tall glass of raw milk and enjoy.

P.S Make sure your liver is from a happy grass-fed cow

8 Comments

  1. March 28, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    You use to be a vegetarian? LOL me too! But I hated veggies then so I ate a ton of carbs, man the rationale there huh? I lasted a year until a steak called my name from a BBQ. I’ve never made homemade chips, but I’ve wanted to! Where do you get your beef tallow?

    • March 28, 2012 at 3:18 PM

      I am really blessed. We have a farm co-op here in Southeast Michigan and you can order all the weird things like tallow, chicken feet, beef livers, kefir…I don’t know what I would do without them. Check out eatwild.com or localharvest.com for local sources.

  2. Misty Yopp said,

    March 28, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    Yummy. Making this tonight 🙂

  3. realfoodroad said,

    March 29, 2012 at 8:55 AM

    So happy to see you mentioning fats with the word “nourishing”, because it’s a truth so many have lost sight of. You’re right about the homemade tortilla chips too. 🙂

  4. Marie said,

    April 1, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    Great recipe! I think eating real food is more important than all this low fat, carb free blah blah blah. I don’t have cow liver, but I have pig liver from a pig we raised ourselves that I’d like to use. Do you think there would be any taste difference?

    • April 1, 2012 at 1:34 PM

      I can’t taste any difference between pig, cow, lamb and chicken liver. Maybe thats just my weird taste buds, but I think they all taste pretty gross 🙂 Hence the reason I hide it in my food and pretend it’s not there lol

  5. May 12, 2012 at 1:24 PM

    […] Real Food Taco Salad (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

