Raw Coconut Fudge with No Sugar

We don’t eat dessert very often, but when we do it needs to include chocolate. I also like very simple recipes that don’t require a lot of time in the kitchen. Both of these fudge recipes contain coconut oil, which is very stimulating to the metabolism. One contains no added sweetener at all, the other raw honey.

Sweet Potato Fudge

2 cups sweet potato, cooked and puree

1/2 cup raw, unsweetened, shredded coconut

1/2 cup coconut oil, gently melted

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

dash of sea salt

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor. Line an 8×8 casserole dish with parchment paper or wax paper. Press fudge into pan. Sprinkle shredded coconut over fudge and press into place with the back of a spoon. Place in the fridge for 1 hour to set. Cut into squares. This recipe is also good with one walnut pressed into each square before it sets.

Coconut Oil Fudge

1/2 cup coconut oil, softened but not melted

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/4 cup coconut sap sugar

1/4 cup raw honey

1/2 tsp vanilla

dash of sea salt

Mix all ingredients in a food processor. Line a bread pan with parchment paper or wax paper. Press fudge into pan and chill in the fridge for 1 hour to set. Cut into squares.

You can add nuts or fruit as desired. I love the texture of the 2nd recipe, so I don’t add anything. It is cool, and sort of oily and melts on your tongue. Delicious!

29 Comments

  1. March 29, 2012 at 5:25 AM

    Holy goodness, that sweet potato fudge looks amazing. I never thought of such a thing! Can’t wait to try it!

  2. March 29, 2012 at 6:31 AM

    OMW! this is lovely.

  3. momgonepaleo said,

    March 29, 2012 at 7:20 AM

    Yummy! My kids will love it!

  4. Assia said,

    March 29, 2012 at 7:29 AM

    Wow! Hard core! Love the idea!

  5. denlyn3 said,

    March 29, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    This looks great. I have been using more and more coconut oil in my cooking and really like the results. I never would have thought to use sweet potato to make fudge.

  6. Lucy said,

    March 29, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    Wow! I would have near thought to use Sweet Potato to make fudge with. Having said that it looks delicious. Where did you find such an unusual recipe? 🙂

    • March 29, 2012 at 9:59 AM

      Honestly, I don’t remember where I found it. I was thumbing through my recipe box a few months ago and found it. I’m glad I did, because it is nice to have a quick sugar-free snack once in a while.

      • Lucy said,

        March 29, 2012 at 10:01 AM

        Definitely and what’s even better for me is there’s no cream or milk involved. My gran makes amazing fudge but I became lactose intolerant a few years ago and can no longer eat it. I’ll have to give this a try

  7. Cortney said,

    March 29, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    Cannot wait to try this. I am all for hiding super healthy stuff in desserts! Thanks for the recipe!

  8. March 29, 2012 at 12:01 PM

    Ok the sweet potato is on my list to make SOON. Wow! That sounds amazing. Love your ideas!!

  9. March 29, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    Ooooo.. another good used for coconut oil! I’m going to try it.

  10. Jasmine Pahl said,

    March 29, 2012 at 2:01 PM

    Great post! I am extremely curious about the sweet potato fudge, seems like a great antidote to the ‘sweet potato fatigue’ one can suffer when trying to eat local throughout the winter months!
    Beautiful job on the pics too, love how the coconut piles up like a snowdrift.

  11. thedairymaid said,

    March 29, 2012 at 2:58 PM

    Hi there! Just wanted to thank you for becoming a follower. Like you, I’m very interested in trying to be healthy and only put good things in my body. Those fudge recipes sound divine and I’m not really that into fudge! lol

  12. March 29, 2012 at 3:01 PM

    Super YUM. I’ve made a variation on coconut oil fudge, but never sweet potato! That sounds delicious! I wonder if it would work in a similar way with pumpkin… (runs to the kitchen to try)

    • March 30, 2012 at 10:16 AM

      Andrea, I see no reason why pumpkin wouldn’t work. I was thinking just about any pureed squash would work too. You may need a smidge of sweetener with squash, but maybe not. I feel another fudge experiment coming on…

      • April 10, 2012 at 8:03 PM

        I just made it with pumpkin and its DELICIOUS! Thanks so much for the inspiration! I’ll post pics of my variation soon(ish). Cheers! 😀

      • April 10, 2012 at 8:27 PM

        oh I can’t wait to see pictures. That was a great idea!

  13. df said,

    March 29, 2012 at 8:00 PM

    I was thrilled to find these recipes; both of my boys love fudge and to think that I can give them a sweet treat that isn’t actually so incredibly sweet as the usual thing is amazing!

  14. creekrose said,

    March 30, 2012 at 2:49 PM

    wowzers! just tried the sweet potato fudge, and it’s really tasty, ummmm :0)

  15. April 1, 2012 at 5:21 PM

    Just bought a sweet potato and trying this now! Can’t wait!

  16. April 10, 2012 at 4:08 AM

    […] Raw Coconut Fudge with no Sugar […]

  17. April 12, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    […] 1. A Real Food Lover shared a recipe for Raw Coconut Fudge with No Sugar: […]

  18. April 12, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    Oh my gosh I am sooo trying the sweet potato fudge! What an awesome idea! Your blog is being added to the regular reading list, so happy to have found it!

  19. April 12, 2012 at 8:13 PM

    I just found your blog and rushed to the kitchen to make the sweet potato fudge. It’s so good! The texture is incredible. I would have never thought to use sweet potatoes in fudge!

    • April 12, 2012 at 8:14 PM

      Amanda, I loved the texture too. I love that zero guilt feeling I get when I eat it… 🙂

  20. April 22, 2012 at 1:01 PM

    […] my Things I Love Thursday posts, you may recall my recent shout-out to A Real Food Lover, whose Raw Coconut Fudge recipe made me […]

  21. April 26, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    […] stumbled upon this Raw Coconut Fudge recipe on A Real Food Lover’s blog. I had never read her blog before, but it’s hard to […]

  22. falling4food said,

    April 26, 2012 at 7:47 PM

    Coconut oil fudge?! Yum! What is coconut sap sugar? I have never heard of it. Is there a good substitute?

    • April 26, 2012 at 7:50 PM

      They sell it in our health food store. It is dehydrated coconut sap, I think honey would work great as a substitute though. Try it out and let me know how it works!


Leave a Reply

