Chorizo and Scrambled Egg Muffins

Chorizo and Scrambled Egg Muffins

1/2 lb chorizo (any breakfast sausage or bacon will work)

5 eggs scrambled

2 eggs for batter

1 cup flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

3 Tbsp maple syrup

2 tsp homemade baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup whole milk

1/3 cup coconut oil, gently melted

  • In skillet brown sausage. Set aside
  • In skillet scramble 5 eggs. Turn off heat.
  • In large bowl combine dry ingredients; flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt.
  • Make a well in the middle of the bowl. Add milk, oil, maple syrup and remaining 2 eggs. Mix well.
  • Fold in eggs and chorizo,
  • Fill a buttered muffin pan. Use 1/4 cup of batter for each muffin. Each muffin cup should be full to the top.
  • Bake in 400 degree oven for 16-18 minutes. Tops should be golden brown.

These are excellent hot or cold. I really love the texture! You have the light, flakey muffin and the density of the scrambled egg pieces. They also have the sweet and salty thing going.  As usual I make a large batch and take them to work for a fast high protein snack. I have also mixed in 1/2 cup of shredded cheese before baking, and they are delicious that way too. I just didn’t happen to have cheese today 🙂

10 Comments

  1. April 1, 2012 at 9:14 AM

    I’ve got to try this – I love savoury muffins.

  2. April 1, 2012 at 9:21 AM

    Sounds great and “portable” for an on-the-go farmer. Will have to make them.

  3. denlyn3 said,

    April 1, 2012 at 9:24 AM

    A great way to have a full breakfast on the run.

  4. df said,

    April 1, 2012 at 9:34 AM

    What a nifty and delicious sounding idea. I’m a huge chorizo fan, so you had me right there!

  5. April 2, 2012 at 5:04 PM

    Ok so I want to come visit, you teach me what you know and I’ll teach you what I know then we’ll know everything, lol ok not everything but darn close! Love your idea for homemade baking powder! I always buy the aluminum free stuff, but… homemade!?! always better 🙂 Again you amaze me! BTW the muffins sound amazing too 🙂

  6. April 4, 2012 at 3:02 AM

    excellent delivery. Seeing people bring a creative take on a classic makes me very happy.

  7. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    […] Muffins (make them myself) […]


Leave a Reply

