Homemade Cheese Crackers

Parmesan and Garlic

Crackers have been on my list of things to make homemade for almost a year. I kept putting it off because I thought it would be hard. Trust me, this took 15-20 minutes tops. They are also delicious! My favorite snack is cheese and crackers. Now I have cheese in the cracker, and cheese on the cracker. What could be better than that?

I have been playing around with this recipe all weekend (yes, we have a lot of crackers to eat).There are endless variations to this recipe. As long as you keep the measurements the same, you can use any cheese or spice that you like. I would stick with whole wheat flour though. White flour would probably end up a more doughy, soft cracker. These are crispy and delicious. Enjoy the experiment!

Parmesan Garlic Crackers

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

4 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 onion powder

1 tsp parsley flakes

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly flour a cookie sheet, or cover with parchment paper.

In your food processor (with the grating blade) grate the parmesan cheese. Leave the cheese in the food processor and change the blade to the regular cutting blade. Add flour, salt, spices and butter. Pulse to cut in the butter (this will also make the cheese finer, which is what you want).

Add 1/4 cup of cream. You may need an additional 1 or 2 tablespoons of cream. The dough should barely stick together, and not be wet or sticky at all.

Dump dough on to a lightly floured counter top. Roll out very thin. 1/4″ max. (if you like a soft, chewy cracker you can make them thicker)

Cut your rolled dough into a square. Place the square on to the cookie sheet. Using a very sharp knife, cut the dough into bite size cracker pieces. Don’t worry if it doesn’t cut all the way through, just deeply score them.

Roll out the remaining dough, until you have used it all up. Sprinkle the pan of crackers with sea salt.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 12 minutes. Crackers should be light brown on top, and a darker brown around the edges. Don’t over bake or the crackers taste scorched. It is better to under bake and let them crisp up on the hot pan, then to burn them.

This makes one quart-size freezer bag full of crackers. Serve with Salmon and Yogurt Cheese Cracker Spread or any sort of raw cheese.

Honey Whole Wheat

So what cheese/spice combo are you going to try? Here are my future cracker experiments:

Blue Cheese and Rye Crackers

Cream Cheese and Carmel Crackers

Sesame Seed and Garlic Crackers

Swiss Cheese and Rosemary Crackers

Garlic and Basil Crackers

Cayenne and Cumin Crackers

Chile Powder and Sweet Onion Crackers

Sun Dried Tomato and Gorgonzola Crackers

Any other ideas?

17 Comments

  1. Jasmine Pahl said,

    April 2, 2012 at 8:56 AM

    Very cool. Had no idea crackers could be so easy to make! I may try them without using the cream, do you think it would work? I could sub coconut milk or even water. Thoughts?

  2. April 2, 2012 at 12:27 PM

    I love homemade crackers too. I make an onion-dill cracker that’s really good, naturally sweet with a boost of tangy dill. You’ve inspired me to write it up on my own blog – soon! Thanks.

  3. df said,

    April 2, 2012 at 1:50 PM

    These look and sound delicious, and so easy! My husband has made crackers before which I’ve posted on my blog: http://wuppenif.com/2011/11/10/homemade-crackers/

  4. April 2, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    I swear every time you write something new it’s like we were separated at birth, lol. I love cheese and crackers too. I could live on it…well not healthily but my taste buds would be happy. I make a similar sourdough version, yum for homemade crackers!

    • April 2, 2012 at 3:44 PM

      Oh and…are those your crackers? How do you get them so perfectly shaped? mine always look like a 3 year old did them in art class 😉

  5. lantanagurl said,

    April 3, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    sounds delish! Gonna have to try these really soon:)

  6. April 3, 2012 at 6:35 PM

    […] https://arealfoodlover.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/homemade-cheese-crackers/#comment-652 Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreRedditTumblrDiggLinkedInStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  7. chefconnie said,

    April 5, 2012 at 11:36 AM

    This is a recipe I have been looking for!!

  8. May 6, 2012 at 5:08 PM

    […] am still playing around with cracker recipes! I have never eaten so many crackers in my life. But we all know that I am an absolute […]

  9. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    […] Crackers (make them myself) […]

  10. julia said,

    July 22, 2012 at 8:26 AM

    Discovering this blog has made my day!

  11. karajanee said,

    August 14, 2013 at 12:30 AM

    I’m so glad I found your blog! I have spent probably an hour going through all your recipes and postings! Did you ever end up making the Chile powder and sweet onion crackers? I was just wondering if you grated a fresh onion into the dough or if you used onion powder or dried onion flakes and just broke them up in the food processor?

    • August 22, 2013 at 9:05 AM

      Karajanee, I actually forgot about trying that! We’re on a barbeque kick lately 🙂 I think i would use dry onion flakes, it seems like a fresh wet onion would be weird in a cracker. I think you should experiment and let us know how it turns out!

      • Kara Mostoller said,

        October 7, 2013 at 10:58 PM

        And I forgot I asked you the question! lol! I guess I will have to try them. I’ll get back to you on that!


Leave a Reply

