Salmon and Noodle Casserole (with homemade egg noodles)

Yesterday I posted a recipe for homemade egg noodles. This is the recipe I made with those noodles. I would guess the whole meal, including noodle making, took 35 minutes to throw together, plus another 30 minutes in the oven. It turned out creamy and delicious. Exactly like I wanted it to taste, I love that!

Real Food Salmon Noodle Casserole

1 batch of homemade egg noodles

1 large can (14 oz) wild-caught salmon with skin and bones (fresh salmon or tuna would also work)

1 small onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp flour + 2 Tbsp butter

1 1/2 cups raw milk

1 cup sour cream or thick homemade yogurt

1 cup shredded cheese of choice (I used raw smoked cheddar)

salt & pepper to taste

2 tsp dry parsley flakes to garnish

Place fresh noodles in boiling water for 12 minutes (or until tender). Drain and pour into 13 x 9 casserole dish.

In a heavy skillet brown onion and garlic. Push them over to the side of the pan. On the other side of the pan, melt 2 Tbsp butter. Stir the 2 Tbsp of flour into the butter to form a paste. Whisk in the milk and incorporate the onion mixture. Let this boil, stirring constantly until thick. Stir in sour cream and drained salmon. Add salt and pepper. Now is the time to taste it and make sure it’s perfect.

Pour this mixture into the casserole dish. Stir it up to mix in the noodles.

Sprinkle with grated cheese. Sprinkle with parsley.

Bake in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

I haven’t tried it, but I imagine this would freeze well. We didn’t have any left over, so I couldn’t test out this theory 🙂 This is a great use for left over fish that didn’t get eaten the day before. It is also a great recipe for people who don’t really love fish, because you hardly notice it’s in there. We use canned salmon with the bones for lots of extra calcium and minerals. The bones and skin soften while cooking and you won’t notice them at all.

8 Comments

  1. Heidi said,

    April 5, 2012 at 5:32 AM

    That looks delicious. And easy. I like easy.

    • April 5, 2012 at 8:47 AM

      Heidi, I like easy too. I also really love meals I can make in large batches and freeze. There are some nights after work that you just want something that will cook itself…

  2. April 5, 2012 at 9:42 AM

    Great job of capturing the light on your photo. I find it SO hard to make a dish that is cream color or white-ish, and have it really pop on the screen. Yours does just that! Plus, like to idea of a fast, easy, good for you dish is always welcome! Thanks for sharing.

  3. April 5, 2012 at 4:00 PM

    This looks WONDERFUL!!! I’ve toyed around with the idea of doing my own pasta but have not done it yet. It scares me, that and mayonnaise, LOL. I guess we have to concur our fears at some point. I really want a slice though, haha it looks so mouth watering.

    • April 5, 2012 at 5:59 PM

      Ok I tried noodles, now you try mayonaise. Because that is totally on my list of things that I’m procrastinating about…..along with homemade shampoo.

      • April 5, 2012 at 7:10 PM

        Yeah I’m with you on shampoo ONLY because you have to buy something other than lye. I thought of maybe making a shampoo bar, then grating it and putting some aloe and water to mix it and get shampoo that way. Still haven’t done that yet, but I’m like you, I’m cheap. I don’t want to HAVE to buy something extra, soap should be soap! 😉

      • April 6, 2012 at 9:29 AM

        It’s amazing how our brains work in exactly the same way. That was my thought process to a tee. 🙂

  4. May 20, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    […] Salmon and Noodle Casserole (with homemade egg noodles) (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

