Orange and Ginger Carrots

I recently purchased a juicer. Anyone with a juicer knows that you have A LOT of carrots around the house all of a sudden. I decided to actually cook and eat these carrots, rather than squeeze the life out of them and throw the pulp out to the chickens.

Orange and Ginger Carrots

1 lbs carrots

2 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger

1/3 cup orange juice

Salt & Pepper to taste

dry basil, dill or mint to garnish (very pretty, but optional)

Oh ginger, you ugly little root

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Turn down to low and cover tightly with a lid. Simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until tender. Remove the lid and boil off any remaining liquid.

Garnish and serve hot (with butter if you’re smart).

10 Comments

  1. April 25, 2012 at 2:32 AM

    I am going to try this 🙂

  2. April 25, 2012 at 3:58 AM

    Delicious – simply a wonderful combination of flavours.

  3. Karen said,

    April 25, 2012 at 7:45 AM

    Fresh ginger gives such a wonderful taste to food…the carrots had to be delicious.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:32 AM

      Karen, yes they were. I am on a ginger kick lately. I’ve been making ginger ale and putting ginger in my juice every morning..delicious!

  4. chefconnie said,

    April 25, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    I adore cooked carrots. Ginger added would be nice. Great combo. My hubby hates cooked carrots and ginger both but I will just be making it for me then….

  5. April 25, 2012 at 11:00 AM

    I have a new juicer that I’m about to try out, so I’ll have to try this with some of those carrots 🙂

  6. April 25, 2012 at 12:21 PM

    LOL you’re right, what is it about juicing and tons of carrots!? Love your idea to mix it up, plus I love ginger 🙂 Nice idea lady!

  7. df said,

    April 26, 2012 at 9:08 PM

    I use fresh ginger with great abandon in cooking these days, and this sounds lovely!


Leave a Reply

