10 Minute Dinner: Shrimp and Garlic Pasta

Rob is a big fan of shrimp. He once ate an entire bag of cocktail shrimp by himself (and groaned for the rest of the night about it). I love them too, and shrimp are a fast easy way to pack in the nutrition. 4 ounces of shrimp contain 23.7 grams of protein. They are also high in selenium, magnesium, Vitamins B12 and B3, choline, iron, phosphorus, omega 3 fatty acids, zinc and copper. So eat as many as you like 🙂 We like this dish heavy on the shrimp, and light on the pasta, but you can adjust according to your tastes.

Shrimp & Garlic Pasta

1/2 pkg fettucine style brown rice noodles (or other pasta of choice)

3-4 Tbsp raw grass-fed butter

2-4 cloves of garlic, crushed (I’m a freak and put 5 in)

1 bag (16 oz) frozen cocktail shrimp (with tails removed)

1 tsp homemade Italian Seasoning (sometimes I’m too lazy and just throw in some parsley for color)

Pour shrimp into a large bowl and fill with cold water, to thaw. Boil water and cook pasta. Drain pasta and stir in garlic and butter and spices. Drain shrimp thoroughly and mix into pasta. Eat and enjoy.

Great with a green salad with homemade salad dressing or just in a pretty bowl with a large side of raw milk 🙂

Sometimes you need dinner in 10 minutes. Lately I have been trying to work out more often, so I need quick meals a few times a week. It’s either the trusty crock pot, a grilled hunk of meat and a salad, or this yummy pasta dish. If you are eliminating grains, I have made this with spaghetti squash and it is very good. This is the simple, basic version of this recipe to save time. You could add any vegetable or spice combination that you wish to change it up.

8 Comments

  1. April 28, 2012 at 1:29 AM

    Great recipe! Shrimp isn’t one of our usual staples but I’m going to pick some up this weekend now. Does it matter what kind of shrimp as far as wild-caught, etc? Thanks for the simple weeknight dinner idea. Now I don’t have an excuse to skip the treadmill either!

    • April 28, 2012 at 12:13 PM

      I don’t buy farmed shrimp that comes from Asia or Latin America, they are very heavy handed with the pesticides and antibiotics there. I also don’t buy shrimp that is wild-caught off the gulf of Mexico. The healthiest shrimp are caught off the coast of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. If you are buying farmed shrimp, it should be organically farmed from inside the USA (where guidelines are very strict). Enjoy your work out 🙂

  2. trialsinfood said,

    April 28, 2012 at 2:13 AM

    this looks delicious!

  3. April 30, 2012 at 2:35 PM

    Ugh! you’re killing me! I have a bag of shrimp (also my favorite) in the freezer waiting for the fast to be over. In fact I told hubby this weekend that I want to eat them as soon as I’m done with this thing. AH! This looks wonderful! I hope you ate a little extra for me 😀

  4. May 18, 2012 at 2:06 AM

    […] 10 Minute Dinner: Shrimp and Garlic Pasta (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

