Homemade Hippie Body Wash

I may have previously mentioned that Rob is a mechanic and one of his favorite activities it to stand in my shower and drip grease and grime and various oils all over the bathroom. In the course of this activity the man goes through a lot of soap. A LOT of soap! I was buying either Dove plain, unscented or Kirk’s Castile soap. Neither of which is cheap. I’m sure you know by now that I am a big, fat cheapskate right? So, this recipe was invented purely to save money, and is not some girly froo-froo bodywash. It does lather very well, and it does make 1 bar of soap last about as long as 4 bars of soap normally would….so I am now paying 1/4 what I was for soap. Mission accomplished!

Homemade Hippie Bodywash

1 bar of Kirks Castile Soap (I do not recommend any other soap, because I haven’t tried them)

1 quart (4 cups) of water

  1. Grate the soap. I personally fed the whole bar through the food processor, then put the food processor directly in the dishwasher. It came out sparkling clean 🙂
  2. Place water and soap in a sauce pan and heat until soap is thoroughly melted. I let it simmer for 2-3 minutes to make sure the soap was really mixed well.
  3. Refill an old pump style hand soap dispenser. This soap is very runny, and should be squeezed directly onto a sponge/loofa/bodywash thingy.
  4. Ok, thats it. You’re done. Go take a shower.

P.S This may seperate as it sits in the jar. Just shake it up before you refill your dispenser.

P.P.S My local dollar store actually sells Kirks Castile Soap in a 3-pack for $1. Every store I have ever seen it in sells the 3 pack for $2.99, so this is an excellent deal. Go check your dollar store! I bought $40 bucks worth last time. We won’t run out of soap for a very long time 🙂

Related Posts:

Homemade Hippie Wrinkle Cream

Homemade Hippie Mouthwash

Homemade Hippie Toothpaste

Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion

Homemade Hippie Body Lotion

Homemade Hippie Facewash

Homemade Hippie Hair Spray

Homemade Hippie Bug Spray

A COMPLETE LIST OF HOMEMADE HIPPIE RECIPES

21 Comments

  1. May 2, 2012 at 11:34 AM

    I was going to make some up soon too – my kids have been asking for more. I scent it with their favourite essential oils and give them each their own pump bottle. Ive read (but havent yet tried it out) that you can just melt the soap bar in a pyrex measureing cup in the microwave to avoid grating it. Then add it to the water. I’m going to try it – cause Im lazy and saving a step sounds like a good plan.

  2. May 2, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    You dang Hippie! LOL You should come here to Oregon where you’ll fit right in. 😉 I love this idea. I have a dollar store right by my house so I need to check it out, I have actually never heard of the soap. All good ingredients I’m assuming? Did you know you could turn mason jars into soap pumps? This post made me think of it http://www.etsy.com/listing/85505527/wide-mouth-best-performance-lid-to-make?utm_source=googleproduct&utm_medium=syndication&utm_campaign=GPS. They only are $5 on that site but looking at it, I can’t imagine it would be too hard to do yourself, maybe get a few soap pumps from the dollar store and you’ll have a ton. 😀

    • May 2, 2012 at 6:49 PM

      I’m actually from Oregon. I miss it like crazy. I’ll check out that link.

      • May 3, 2012 at 11:57 AM

        Really? What part? Small little world it is. I swear the more you reveal about yourself the more we have in common…

  3. ybertaud9 said,

    May 5, 2012 at 2:16 PM

    Nice one! Thanks & sharing! Be well 😉

  4. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    […] Bodywash (make it myself) […]

  5. May 17, 2012 at 7:58 PM

    […] Hippie Body Wash (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) […]

  6. June 2, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    did you check for palm oil?

  7. April 7, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  8. April 7, 2013 at 5:39 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  9. April 7, 2013 at 6:34 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  10. April 7, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  11. April 7, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  12. April 7, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

  13. April 7, 2013 at 7:25 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Mouthwash, Face Wash, Body Wash […]

  14. April 7, 2013 at 7:31 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Mouthwash, Face Wash, Body Wash […]

  15. April 11, 2013 at 12:01 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Body Wash […]

    • imee said,

      May 11, 2015 at 4:50 PM

      just love all the informations. very interesting and so easy to follow and sounds cheap.

  16. February 19, 2014 at 9:51 PM

    Hey Heather,

    Could you use liquid Castile soap and just dilute it with equal parts water? I’m considering buying some of the liquid stuff for making your homemade face wash and don’t want to buy the bar too if I don’t have to. 🙂

  17. Laura said,

    April 3, 2014 at 9:51 PM

    Mine keeps solidifying. Any idea why?


Leave a Reply

