Homemade Worcestershire Sauce

I held out on making this one for ages, because I thought that  Lea & Perrins had some magic recipe that only they were allowed to use and I would be banished to culinary hell if I tried to steal it. Well, if this is hell sign me up, cuz this is delicious! 🙂 I have seen many complicated recipes online for worcestershire sauce, and I hate going out to buy a whole bunch of specialty ingredients just to make one recipe. I mean, what the heck is tamarind concentrate anyway? This is a cheaper, simpler version.

Homemade Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

2 Tbsp Thai fish sauce

2 Tbsp raw honey

1 Tbsp molasses

1 lime, juiced

1/2 tsp ground clove

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp chili powder

Mix and store in an air tight container for 2-3 weeks in the fridge. This is an excellent seasoning to use in a marinade and goes well with any meat.

Related posts:

Homemade Fajita Seasoning 

Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

Coffee Spice Rub

Homemade Baking Powder

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Homemade Italian Seasoning

Homemade Seasoning Salt

22 Comments

  1. ybertaud9 said,

    May 3, 2012 at 2:38 AM

    Excellent! Will try this one out, Thanks!

  2. Patti said,

    May 3, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    What is Thai fish sauce & where do you get it?

    • May 3, 2012 at 12:20 PM

      Patti, I got it at whole foods, but you can find it in most grocery stores in the asian foods aisle, or wherever they are keeping the soy & teriyaki sauces these days 🙂 You can also make your own by making fish stock, and reducing it down into a thick paste….which I’ve never done.

  3. May 3, 2012 at 10:43 AM

    definitely going to try and veganize this. Thanks!

  4. May 3, 2012 at 12:18 PM

    Huh. Who knew you could make it yourself? I usually look up how to make my own spice mixes, but this one never occurred to me. We just ran out, too.

  5. May 3, 2012 at 4:34 PM

    Gosh, I can’t believe I didn’t realize you could just.. you know.. MAKE this. I SO have to try it!

  6. Tamara said,

    May 3, 2012 at 6:37 PM

    Oh my God! I am going to try this one soon. I am almost out and, according to my new self imposed rules, can’t buy any more. My ceasar salad cannot be made without worcestershire sauce. You may have just saved my summer.

  7. May 3, 2012 at 6:42 PM

    Yum! WOW! Oh man I love the stuff you come up with!! I had no idea you could make this yourself. Yay!

  8. May 4, 2012 at 11:07 AM

    Sounds delish. What’s in the fish sauce? Is it organic?

    • May 4, 2012 at 1:42 PM

      It’s basically fish broth/stock boiled down into a thick paste-like sauce. You could make this yourself if you don’t mind fish carcasses & heads boiling away in your house. ha! I haven’t tried it.

      • May 4, 2012 at 3:38 PM

        Can you even imagine?! Not so far into whole foods that THAT sounds like a viable option yet! 😉

      • May 4, 2012 at 5:44 PM

        And really good quality fish sauce is fermented for 12-18 months. I don’t see myself doing that anytime this century. 🙂

  9. df said,

    May 4, 2012 at 9:01 PM

    Genius! I’ll definitely give this a whirl some time. Must echo your sentiments around fish sauce; I’ve always been grateful that I can just buy it!

  10. May 5, 2012 at 11:08 AM

    Years ago I made Emeril’s Worcestershire sauce from Louisiana Real & Rustic. It made nearly 6 pints and I had Worcestershire sauce running out of my ears. I gave away most of it keeping only 2 pints which is a lot of Worcestershire sauce. While I really do like Lea & Perrins, there is nothing like homemade Worcestershire sauce. This recipe sounds nice, easy and makes a quantity small enough for household use. I may have to try this.

  11. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    […] Worcestershire Sauce (yes you can do this yourself) […]

  12. Amy said,

    May 12, 2012 at 9:11 PM

    I feel silly that I never even thought about making this- like there was some secret to it. Thanks! I will definitely be trying this!

  13. May 29, 2012 at 1:06 AM

    […] 3 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (make your own here) […]

  14. July 26, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    Wow! This was a lifesaver! I was almost out and didn’t want to run to the store (which for me, living in the boonies, means a 20 minute drive) for just one thing. This tastes spot on, and I can imagine that if I let it mellow a little, it would taste even better. Thanks for posting!

  15. December 23, 2012 at 5:33 PM

    Thank you! I’ve been wanting to find a DIY recipe for Worcestershire sauce. I’m glad this version doesn’t call for anchovies. (I know fish sauce is basically the same thing, but at least I don’t have to think about it! 😉

    @Gabby, I found a recipe for a vegan version on Martha Stewart’s site. Search for “Homemade Vegan Worcestershire Sauce”. 🙂

  16. May 25, 2013 at 6:38 PM

    […] Homemade Worcestershire Sauce […]

  17. January 12, 2014 at 1:09 AM

    […] Homemade Worcestershire Sauce […]


Leave a Reply

