Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder

I have been experimenting with making homemade cleaning and beauty products as I run out of them. So far I have made my own dishwasher detergent, window/glass cleaner, all purpose cleanser and disinfectant, lotion, wrinkle cream, hair spray, toothpaste, mouthwash, and lip balm and now it’s time to tackle scouring powder.

I happen to be in love with a handsome mechanic. He comes home with much grease and leaves the shower and sink with nice dark rings and smudges.  I need a serious scouring powder to tackle this stuff 🙂 I have used this powder 3 times now, and I find that it works just as well as comet, and rinses off much better. I don’t feel like I’m wasting zillions of gallons of water trying to wash the comet residue down the drain….I have tried plain baking soda before, and a baking soda/vinegar mix and in my opinion this is much better.

Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder

1 cup Baking soda

1 cup Salt (I used kosher for extra grit)

1 cup Borax

Mix all ingredients in a container. I usually just refill the bottle/container of whatever I ran out of. Do you guys have a whole bunch of bottles and tubes that are full of homemade concoctions too? However, you can’t refill a comet container very easily, so I took a small coffee can (see saving those coffee cans isn’t weird! You really will find a use for them. You will!) and poked holes in the plastic lid. You can use a canning jar, or any old container you have been waiting to repurpose. Fill with powder, top with lid. Sprinkle and scrub to your hearts content.

I think next time I will dry some orange or lemon peels and make them into a powder. I think that would smell great and add some extra scrubbing power. Plus I have a juicer now, and I’m dying to come up with a use for all of these citrus peels.  I already made orange oil, and I love it! I’ll post that recipe for you tomorrow.

COMPLETE LIST OF HOMEMADE HIPPIE RECIPES

15 Comments

  1. RedDesilets said,

    May 4, 2012 at 6:41 AM

    Reblogged this on To Come Full Circle.

  2. May 4, 2012 at 12:41 PM

    Ive had some orange peels drying all week to try this out with too!

  3. GEREAN said,

    May 4, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    I make my own scouring powder using the same recipe, except I add about 20 or so drops of organic spearmint oil. Wonderful, clean, fresh scent. Thanks for sharing! ~Gerean

    http://www.gereannas.com

  4. ybertaud9 said,

    May 5, 2012 at 2:02 PM

    Nice Tip Thanks! Sharing on FB 😉

  5. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    […] Scouring Powder (very simple to make) […]

  6. pat rice said,

    February 1, 2013 at 7:52 PM

    i absssolutely love all your money saving ideas …..i also send them to my sons who own a restaurant ……i am sure that these will help them
    thank you ………………….i am on a very tight budget ….and it will help me…….!!!!!!!thank you again……..

  7. April 7, 2013 at 1:41 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  8. April 7, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  9. April 7, 2013 at 1:50 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  10. April 7, 2013 at 7:25 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  11. April 7, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  12. April 11, 2013 at 12:01 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  13. May 26, 2013 at 1:03 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Scouring Powder […]

  14. judy said,

    February 19, 2015 at 5:43 PM

    Very nice stuff . I always like looking for different things


Leave a Reply

