The Truth about Sea Salt

Hawaiian Deep Sea Salt

Salt has received a lot of press in past years. One minute it is absolutely essential to life, and the next it is giving you hypertension and trying to kill you.

Salt contains sodium, which is necessary for life. It also provides chloride, which produces acid necessary to digest protein. Chloride is also essential to proper brain growth and function. Salt contains magnesium, which is important for many, many functions and is a crucial, but often overlooked mineral. See my post about magnesium here. Salt is important for muscle contraction and expansion, nerve stimulation, and the proper functioning of the adrenal glands. As with any thing on earth, moderation is the key. The body needs 500 mg of sodium per day. Today the average person eats 6,000 to 10,000 mg of sodium per day!

The truth lies in the different types of salt.

Celtic Sea Salt

Table Salt

  • Heated to over 1,200 degrees
  • Highly processed
  • Mined from rock salt beds
  • 97.5 sodium chloride
  • Added iodine
  • Aluminum hydroxide added as a ‘flowing agent’
  • Added silicon dioxide and dextrose
  • Added fluoride
  • Often contains corn sugar to make it more palatable

Sea Salt

  • Unrefined
  • Unheated
  • Extracted from ocean water by evaporation
  • High mineral content: potassium, calcium, magnesium, selenium, copper, iron, zinc, and manganese.
  • Contains zero additives
  • Contains microscopic plant life, which naturally contain iodine
  • Contains live enzymes, which aid in digestion

Portugese Sea Salt

I love sea salt, and find the highest quality that I can afford. By far the best tasting salt I’ve ever had is Selina Naturally Hawaiian Sea Salt. It happens to also be the sea salt with the #1 highest mineral content. So if you are looking for my top recommendation, that would be it. (around $24 lb)

Runner up: Celtic Brand Sea Salt, not quite as high in mineral content, but very delicious. ($11.00 lb)

Other high quality sea salts I like are Selina Naturally Portuguese Sea Salt ($8 lb) and Himalayan Sea Salt ($5 lb).

Most other brands I’ve seen marketed as natural sea salt, have such low mineral content that you might as well buy iodized table salt and not bother.

Himalayan Sea Salt

13 Comments

  1. chefconnie said,

    May 25, 2012 at 7:49 AM

    I use sea salt exclusively. Nice to know I was on the right path. Always such great information on this blog.

  2. df said,

    May 25, 2012 at 10:21 AM

    I second the above comment; I’m checking my sea salt to see if it’s up to snuff!

  3. May 25, 2012 at 11:02 AM

    We’ve been using our stash of Himalayan Salt, but I’m thinking I’ll order one of your other recommendations next time. Nice photos–now I want something salty 🙂

  4. Sarah said,

    May 25, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    What about the “Real Salt” Brand? That’s the only salt I’ve found that actually lists the nutrients.

    • May 25, 2012 at 12:31 PM

      Sarah, believe it or not I haven’t heard of that one. I would just check to see the origin of the salt. Is it mined from the earth or derived from sea water? If i had to pick between the two I would pick salt from the sea, over anything mined if I could help it. You are after those little bits of sea and plant life that stay in the salt after drying. Those little bits are high in natural iodine and lots of minerals.

  5. May 25, 2012 at 7:09 PM

    I’ve always gotten the Himalayan pink salt thinking that was pretty good. Now I know there’s better! Thanks as always for the great informative post Heather.

    • May 25, 2012 at 7:16 PM

      Anytime! Writing that post really made me want potato chips. I’m making them in a frying pan and it’s a huge pain in the $(%$^*!. Do you have any idea how many potatoes it takes to make one dang serving of chips? I’m surprised a bag of potato chips doesn’t cost forty dollars! All because of a salty post….

  6. June 6, 2012 at 4:02 PM

    great info, I have to admit I have always wondered about all the different salts. I knew table salt wasn’t “it” for me but I didn’t know they added fluoride although I probably should have known. That is really horrible though. Sneaky little buggers aren’t they? 😉

  7. ybertaud9 said,

    June 13, 2012 at 5:49 AM

    Nice post! Check out Black Hawaiian sea salt http://www.saltworks.us/shop/product.asp?idProduct=391 😉

  8. ybertaud9 said,

    June 14, 2012 at 5:57 AM

    Reblogged this on ByzantineFlowers and commented:
    Great post that needs more attention… Table Salt contains Fluoride & Aluminum! Also check out Black Hawaiian Sea Salt http://www.saltworks.us/shop/product.asp?idProduct=391

  9. June 25, 2014 at 4:03 AM

    […] The Truth about Sea Salt | A Real Food LoverThe Superfood Guide | The Holy Kale […]

  10. January 9, 2015 at 9:02 PM

    […] The Truth about Sea Salt | A Real Food LoverThe Superfood Guide | The Holy Kale […]


Leave a Reply

