Homemade Egg Noodles

I was really surprised at how easy this was. Robs chickens are producing 18-20 eggs a day, so this gives us a great excuse to eat some pasta! I made one small batch to start, just enough for dinner. But it would be just as simple to make a huge batch and let them dry out for long-term storage. I used sprouted whole wheat flour and they turned out perfect.

Homemade Egg Noodles

2 large free range eggs

1 egg yolk

1 cup of flour

1 cup of flour for kneading

1/2 tsp sea salt

In a bowl mix eggs, 1 cup of flour and salt. It will be very sticky.

  • Generously flour the counter top and your hands. Knead in the remaining cup of flour.
  • The dough should now be dry enough to handle.

  • Roll dough out very thin. Cut into strips. Keeping in mind that the noodles double when cooked. I cut mine 1/2 inch wide and they turned out very thick.

Now you can either place them in boiling water for 12 minutes (or until tender) or you can lay them on a drying rack to dehydrate. Once they are completely dry (overnight) place in an airtight container. You can also roll them up and store them in the fridge, but they don’t last as long that way.

15 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    April 4, 2012 at 5:58 AM

    Egg noodles from fresh eggs…how wonderful.

  2. April 4, 2012 at 6:59 AM

    Is it really so easy? Great thing to do with kids!

  3. April 4, 2012 at 8:25 AM

    LOVE!!!

  4. denlyn3 said,

    April 4, 2012 at 8:29 AM

    I didn’t realize that making egg noodles was so simple, I have to give this a try. Thanks

  5. April 5, 2012 at 4:55 AM

    […] I posted a recipe for homemade egg noodles. This is the recipe I made with those noodles. I would guess the whole meal, including noodle […]

  6. Heather said,

    April 7, 2012 at 2:42 PM

    LOVE fresh pasta! I think it is one of my favorite dishes.

  7. May 7, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    […] Pasta (make it myself) […]

  8. ChantalMM said,

    May 11, 2012 at 11:39 PM

    Does it matter what type of flour you use, as in semolina vs. not semolina?

    • May 12, 2012 at 9:30 AM

      I usually use sprouted whole wheat flour, my grandma used to use all-purpouse or bread flour.

  9. fitfoodiele said,

    May 18, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    i don’t know why making my own pasta intimidates me so much. i’m gonna give it a try. thanks for posting!

  10. nova said,

    May 4, 2013 at 6:05 PM

    What is the storage time for dried. Storage and in the fridge ? Thanks.

    • May 25, 2013 at 5:14 PM

      Nova, If i am making a large quantity i always dry them. They last for ages in a tightly sealed bag. 6 months i would guess (although ours never last that long!) And wire racks or even coat hangers work great for drying them in a large amount.

  11. Alk said,

    September 16, 2013 at 11:07 PM

    how do i dry them correctly? and what is a drying rack?

    • November 7, 2013 at 10:47 AM

      Alk, the noodles need air flow to dry. You can place them on an surface with air above and below, such as a grill or oven rack etc.

      • Alk said,

        November 8, 2013 at 10:16 AM

        Thank you!


Leave a comment