Perfect Cornbread

I don’t know about  you, but in a previous life I think I was from the deep south! I love a hot piece of cornbread with butter.

Perfect Cornbread

1 cup flour ( I use sprouted wheat)

3/4 cup Cornmeal

2 tsp homemade Baking Powder

3/4 tsp salt

3 Tbsp Sugar ( I use rapadura)

1/4 cup Coconut Oil-melted

1 Tbsp Butter-melted

2 pastured Eggs

1 cup milk

Additional 1/4 cup of butter for pan

Mix dry ingredients. Add all wet ingredients and stir.

Heat your oven to 400 degrees, place a 10″ cast iron skillet in oven to get really hot. Melt 1/4 in the pan and swirl around. Pour batter in hot pan and bake for 18-20 minutes until edges are brown and crispy.

I have made this a hundred times and it always turns out perfect.

5 Comments

  1. February 23, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    […] Eat with hot, fresh cornbread […]

  2. March 17, 2012 at 6:47 AM

    […] for ways to get more coconut into your body? How about cornbread, soaked oatmeal, simple body lotion. I also use it for the majority of my frying (It leaves no […]

  3. April 3, 2012 at 5:29 AM

    […] I mention that if you ever want to make superb homemade cornbread, the most tender steak ever, or a killer deep dish pizza you are going to need a cast iron […]

  4. May 12, 2012 at 1:01 AM

    […] are very good and very filling. I serve them with fresh cornbread right out of the oven and we usually eat way too much. This recipe freezes and reheats very well. I […]

  5. May 29, 2012 at 1:06 AM

    […] Perfect Cornbread […]


Leave a comment