Homemade Wheat Thin Crackers (soaked)

I am still playing around with cracker recipes! I have never eaten so many crackers in my life. But we all know that I am an absolute cheese-oholic. And what better to place under my cheese, then a nice crispy cracker. Why bother making them yourself you ask? This is the ingredient list from a regular box of plain Wheat Thins:

  • Enriched Whole Wheat Flour- enriched because they strip and extrude the grain at extremely high temperature and pressure, killing every vitamin and mineral naturally found in wheat. So synthetic  vitamins are added back in to try and fool you. I personally doubt that we absorb much, if any, of these synthetic vitamins.
  • Soybean Oil- from GMO soybeans. Don’t even get me started
  • Cornstarch-from GMO corn
  • Malt Syrup-sweetener made from GMO corn
  • Sugar- made from GMO sugar beets
  • BHT- added to the packaging to “preserve freshness” This is a fancy way of saying, “you are eating a rancid food and we added a deodorizer to the box so it doesn’t stink when you open it.

Sound appetizing? These crackers are really very easy to make. And the soaking step is ridiculously simple. I hate to shop, so for me this is actually a much easier option than going to a store and buying a box of premade crackers. Ha!

Homemade Wheat Thin Crackers (soaked)

1 1/4 cup organic wheat flour (freshly ground if you can)

1/4 cup water + 2Tbsp

4 Tbsp butter (unsalted)

1 1/2 Tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt (plus more for salting before baking)

  • Combine flour, sugar, salt, and paprika.
  • Cut in the butter. I used a food processor, but you don’t have to.
  • Add water and stir to combine.

Wrap dough tightly in plastic wrap and place in a very warm location. Mine took a nice long nap over night on top of the fridge. The ideal temperature would be between 110 and 130 degrees. Maybe the oven with the pilot light? And ideas? Between baking and letting it sit out for 8-24 hours you are breaking down a very large portion of the phytic acid and pre-digesting the gluten. I also like soaking because it breaks your recipes up into two seperate days, which to me feels like less work for some reason….If you don’t care about soaking, then carry on with the baking right now!

Flour your counter top and roll out the dough. You want the crackers to be very thin, so they will be crispy. Transfer the dough to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Score the crackers deeply with a sharp knife. I make mine exactly the size of my mouth 🙂 Sprinkle with a small amount of extra salt. I over did it the first time and they were too salty, so beware.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 5-10 minutes. Check them after 5 and remove the crackers that are smaller or thinner and are browning too fast. You’ll know the ones….cool. break. eat.

For the sake of the experiment I actually “borrowed” some wheat thins from a co-worker and brang them home. I ate a real wheat thin and a homemade wheat thin and they tasted EXACTLY THE SAME. I made Rob test them both with his eyes closed and he couldn’t tell the difference. Success!

For the absolute best nutritional value, grind your flour fresh. I have not squeezed the grain mill into my budget yet, but I am almost there. I can’t wait!

P.S If you have a Kitchen Aid Mixer, you can buy a very inexpensive attachment for it that will grind fresh grain! I wish I had one…..but I am still using a good old fashioned wooden spoon 🙂

12 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    April 30, 2012 at 2:03 AM

    I love wheat thins, but I’m so over all the ridiculous ingredients. This is awesome.

  2. April 30, 2012 at 2:52 PM

    I love cheese too! Oh these sound wonderful. I’m so going to make these. Thanks for doing the experiments for us 😀

  3. Mel said,

    May 5, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    Great recipe! The only thing I would want to change if I did the “soaking” part is not to wrap it in plastic to avoid toxins and to be eco-friendly. Would using a cheesecloth be ok or should the dough not be allowed to breathe (or get exposed to air)? Or maybe you could put the dough in a glass container in a warm location (not in the oven unless it is oven-safe glass of course).

    • May 6, 2012 at 10:31 AM

      You don’t want the dough to dry out, because it’s already a rather dry dough, so cheesecloth probably wouldn’t work. If you greased a glass bowl, and then covered the bowl with plastic (not touching the dough) that would probably work well. If it dries out, you can always knead a few times with wet hands.

  4. Mel said,

    May 10, 2012 at 9:02 PM

    Thanks, I’ll try that!

  5. May 24, 2012 at 8:38 PM

    […] Homemade Wheat Thin Crackers (soaked) (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:Like9 bloggers like this post. Posted in products, recipe, snack | Tagged almond pulp, crackers, giveaway, Gluten-Free, product review, raw, soup, sugar-free, vegan […]

  6. ChantalMM said,

    September 19, 2012 at 11:16 PM

    This looks great. Does the recipe actually use vanilla, though? It’s in the ingredient list but not in the method. I assume I should mix it with the water, if used.

    • September 21, 2012 at 10:50 AM

      Yes, I’ll fix the instructions to include the vanilla. It really is an important ingredient, so don’t leave it out. I do mix it in with the water.

  7. Susan said,

    October 11, 2012 at 9:44 PM

    I’ve got a triple batch soaking right now for a traditional foods event in a couple days. I did however replace some of the water with whey. You’d ideally want an acid to help the phytase neutralize the phytates. One could use vinegar or lemon juice I’d imagine if have an issue with dairy. My microwave is above my oven so tends to be a nice warm spot — and we never use it to cook with so it has now become my soaking spot 🙂 I have been known to preheat the oven, forgetting bread or beans soaking in there. Oops! Great website — tomorrow I’m making steaks using your tips.

  8. April 14, 2013 at 8:00 AM

    […] Whole grain crackers […]

  9. Joni said,

    August 13, 2014 at 1:44 PM

    Should the crackers be soaked in an acidic medium? Could I just add two tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar instead of two tablespoons of water?

  10. May 16, 2015 at 1:16 PM

    I’ve made a lot of crackers, but I’ve never tried soaking them before, so I’m going to give this a try this weekend. Thanks for the recipe and the tips. It’s Recipe of the Day today on Cooking with Whole Grains & Real, Whole Foods on Facebook.


Leave a comment