Coconut Oil Popcorn on the Stove Top

This is almost too easy to post about, but it’s one of our favorite snacks, so I thought I’d share. You can use coconut oil, or butter or a mixture of the two. I like a mixture, but that is totally up to your taste buds! This is a large recipe, because for some reason this doesn’t go stale like other recipes I’ve tried. I pack a bag in my lunch and eat it cold the next day. If you want just a small, easy snack 2 Tbsp of dry popcorn kernels make 1 Quart of popcorn.

Coconut Oil Popcorn

makes about 2 1/2 quarts (10 cups)

1/3 cup organic popcorn kernels

3 Tbsp coconut oil

2 Tbsp grass-fed butter

salt to taste

I use a very heavy bottomed, stainless steel stock pot with a lid for this recipe. I think just about any heavy pot will do (including heave frying pans).

Place coconut oil, popcorn kernels and butter in pot. Turn heat to medium-high and place lid on pot. Every 10 seconds or so shake the pot to avoid burnt popcorn. Once the popcorn starts to pop, you can stop shaking. There will be a fast burst of popping, after that turn off the heat and let it finish popping. Remove lid and add salt to taste.

butter, coconut oil and organic popcorn in pot. Medium high heat.

I have made this many times and have never had burnt popcorn or un-popped kernels in the bottom of the pot. We eat a lot right away, and then store the left overs in sandwich bags for lunch or snacks.

Empty pot, no burned or un-popped kernels.

Other popcorn flavor ideas that I plan to try:

Grated Parmesan cheese

Italian seasonings (basic, oregano, parsley)

Salt & Vinegar

Lemon pepper

Tabasco sauce

Celery salt & Dill

Garlic Butter

Homemade taco seasoning

What are your ideas?

22 Comments

  1. May 15, 2012 at 2:05 PM

    Reminds me of when I was a kid, we ALWAYS made popcorn on the stove. 😀 I love it to this day. Hubby tried to grow popping corn last year but it didn’t have enough time to come up. 😦 Reminds me I need to buy some popcorn. Have you had issues with Organic not popping? I bought a few bags of it before and it didn’t want to pop… it was the strangest thing.

    • May 15, 2012 at 9:38 PM

      No i haven’t. I wonder if it was just old maybe?

      • May 16, 2012 at 5:19 PM

        Yeah that was the thought. Also heard that it has something to do with the water inside, and there was a way to “fix” it but ended up just bagging the whole deal. Where do you buy your popping corn?

    • Teresa said,

      January 21, 2013 at 11:21 AM

      I have had issues with organic popcorn not popping. What is the best organic brand? I need to buy some now!

      • Nancy Jayne said,

        January 29, 2013 at 7:45 PM

        I love Trader Joe’s organic popcorn..Always pops for me!

  2. May 15, 2012 at 11:08 PM

    Yum!

  3. fitfoodiele said,

    May 18, 2012 at 12:25 PM

    this is one of my fav snacks!! microwaved pop corn sucks! coconut oil adds such an amazing flavor and is so healthy. awesome post!

  4. May 23, 2012 at 12:01 AM

    […] Coconut Oil Popcorn on the Stove Top (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Marita said,

    May 27, 2012 at 5:29 PM

    We add dash Apple Cider Vinegar

  6. Kimberly said,

    June 25, 2012 at 7:22 PM

    Have you tried cinnamon, nutmeg and salt? Mmmmm….

  7. Anna said,

    September 24, 2012 at 6:09 AM

    Garam Masala works really well too!

  8. Nancy Jayne said,

    November 6, 2012 at 9:18 PM

    I use only a tablespoon or two of coconut oil and pop in a stainless steel Back to Basics popcorn popper on top of stove…and season with Spike! YUM!

  9. March 2, 2013 at 9:18 PM

    Best popcorn ever, . . . posting to my fb page!

  10. bob said,

    March 18, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    ??? 5 tablespoons of oil and only 1/3 cup popcorn???

    • April 1, 2013 at 2:34 PM

      popcorn does tend to grow, so yes. You can decrease if you like, but i like it very ‘buttery’….

  11. Melinda said,

    August 21, 2013 at 7:31 PM

    I just found your site and can’t stop reading all the cool healthy ideas. I’m saving it on my favorites. Thank you for taking the time to post. Much appreciated!!!

  12. Anastasia said,

    January 11, 2014 at 12:28 PM

    I do this all the time! Love it….for a different flavour, I use fresh rosemary from my garden and toss into the melting coconut oil. I let it fuse slowly for a bit then lift it out and continue with popping the corn as normal. Once it’s done, I lightly drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and add the fused rosemary back in. It’s not for everyone, but it’s very European and I love it.

    • imee said,

      May 11, 2015 at 5:02 PM

      just love all the recipes. and i love cooking myself, especially healthy foods.

  13. April 4, 2014 at 3:07 PM

    love your posts, question: there are so many coconut oils out there which is best and where does one get the best deal without contamination? thanks
    bernadette


Leave a comment