Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion

My favorite part about making lotions and creams is picking the oils to use. There are so many oils that are excellent for the skin. I wanted this cream to be thick (because I do dishes two thousand times a day) and easily absorbed. Jojoba Oil is very close to your skins own sebum, so it really does the trick. You can mix and match any oils that you wish in this recipe. Make small batches, in case you don’t like the oil you picked.

Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion

1 1/3 c hot water

1/3 cup emulsifying wax

1/8 cup Olive Oil

1/8 cup Jojoba Oil

12 drops essential oil (I’m on a rose oil kick right now)

In glass jelly jar mix oil and wax. Set jar in a pan of warm water on a low flame until  melted.

In a separate cup heat the water, it doesn’t have to be boiling.

Pour the hot water into the wax mixture. Let it cool a little bit and then stir in essential oil.

Cool overnight.

You can use any oil that you wish. I have made it with 1/4 cup of coconut oil before. I have used half coconut and half jojoba. The mixture is totally up to you. I love this with a few drops of rose-water. I make it in the jar that I plan to keep it in, so its even easier! And emulsifying oil is cheap, you can get it at Mountain Rose Herbs for only $7.00 a pound. I bought mine 2 years ago and I’m still using it. My only suggestion is to make your lotion in small batches. It has a shelf life of about a month, unless you keep it in the fridge. Mine has never spoiled, because I use it up too fast. The fun part about small jars, is you get to experiment with different oils and scents that much sooner. If you’re looking for a lotion to make in large batches, that has a long shelf life, try the Simple Body Lotion recipe below.

Aroma Therapy

See also:

Homemade Hippie Body Lotion

Homemade Hippie Mouthwash

Homemade Hippie Face Wash

Mineral Make-up

Homemade Hippie Wrinkle Cream

Homemade Hippie Lip Balm

Homemade Hippie Body Wash

Homemade Hippie Tooth Paste

Homemade Hippie Bug Spray

A COMPLETE LIST OF HOMEMADE HIPPIE RECIPES

22 Comments

  1. March 23, 2012 at 4:30 PM

    Love Mountain Rose Herbs! I use them all the time, plus it’s a bonus that they are in Oregon 🙂 Great simple way to do this. My process is much more complicated, funny how you get the same product, but the processes can be so different. Looks lovely!

  2. May 7, 2012 at 1:05 AM

    […] Hand & body lotion (make it myself) […]

  3. ChantalMM said,

    May 11, 2012 at 11:45 PM

    Have you ever tried using lanolin? I didn’t know about all these different oils, and emulsifying wax still seems daunting to me (I don’t know that I would use up all I might buy), so I mix lanolin with coconut oil for my hands. The lanolin is thick and waterproof, and the coconut oil is basically to thin out the mix and make it spread easier and soak in faster. I’m currently experimenting with ratios, and I wonder how it compares to recipes like this.

    • May 12, 2012 at 9:29 AM

      I use lanolin in a few things in small amounts. I am having a lot of fun experimenting with beeswax though, it’s amazing how little it takes to make lotion/balm etc.

  4. May 15, 2012 at 11:00 AM

    […] Simple Hand Lotion (arealfoodlover.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterEmailPrintFacebookRedditPinterestMoreDiggStumbleUponTumblrLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. April 7, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  6. April 7, 2013 at 5:39 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  7. April 7, 2013 at 6:28 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  8. April 7, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  9. April 7, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  10. April 7, 2013 at 6:56 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  11. April 7, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  12. April 7, 2013 at 7:18 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  13. April 7, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    […] Homemade Hippie Hand Lotion […]

  14. April 7, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    […] Hippie Hand Lotion, Body Lotion, Lip […]

  15. April 11, 2013 at 12:02 AM

    […] Homemade Hippie Simple Hand Lotion […]

  16. Wendy Molony said,

    April 24, 2013 at 12:08 AM

    Hi there, Im giving the hand cream a go and its not working? I have melted wax & oils and heated the water (not quite boiling) and when I put them together they separate? I have tried it twice (stirred and not stirred) Can you tell me what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks 🙂

    • April 24, 2013 at 10:34 AM

      Wendy, you don’t mix the water into the hand cream. You mix the wax and oil together in a jar. The jar is sitting in a pot of hot water, in order to melt the wax. There is no water in the actual cream. Does that make a little better sense?

      • Wendy Molony said,

        April 24, 2013 at 8:00 PM

        Oh dear! Thanks for your reply, feeling a bit silly, but I guess ‘live and learn’. I have made a moisturizer that added tepid water to melted wax & oil and when beaten it created a beautiful texture. I thought this was a bit the same. Will try it again 🙂

  17. Wendy said,

    May 2, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    Sorry, one more question. Your instructions say to pour hot water into wax mixture? What does this mean if the water is not suppose to be mixed in with the melted oils?

    • May 25, 2013 at 5:20 PM

      Wendy, I am so sorry. I thought you were making a different recipe when you commented. That is the beauty of trying to reply to these comments using my smartphone. The hand lotion recipe does mix oil and water, you are correct. The emulsifying wax (not regular beeswax) is the ‘glue’ that holds these two ingredients together. All i can think of is that you have purchased the wrong kind of wax?? Sorry again for the confusion. I feel like i should mail you some lotion now 🙂

      Heather

  18. Vicky said,

    June 18, 2014 at 1:39 PM

    I made this yesterday. The instructions say to put it in the fridge overnight to let it set. Does it need to continue to be refrigerated after using, or can I store it on a shelf in my bathroom?


Leave a comment